When your identity is challenged…

image

Things happen that make us think about who we are; what we stand for and what we believe in. If we do not have a solid understanding of ourselves and values, it is easy to be rattled and displaced but whatever we see as a challenge. During my teenage years, I remember how hard it was to know what was ‘me’ and what wasn’t. Through trial and error I am now getting a better understanding of the actions, speech, thoughts and everything else that is or (is not) in line with me.

I read something this morning talking about the way we should be constantly assessing and reassessing the way we spend our days and ultimately our lives. The point was that we should not just be working for money or for status, power etc. We should be finding and living our best selves. Living for a personal mission. That could be teaching maths, raising kids, bringing others clarity and joy through music. Whatever it is, our focus should be on being who we are…Not someone else.

I am using today and this weekend to evaluate and re-group. Join me!

Check out my YouTube and podcast.

Nissi x

My book on beauty and self – esteem is available here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009TOB9LC

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

