Prayer Week Reflections: Tuesday

Good Morning! It is amazing how being stuck in traffic in the morning can turn into a time of reflection. I hate traffic but I decided that instead of having it spoil my mood, I was going to use the time to think and pray (with my eyes open of course). I asked God to just show me how I could be a blessing today and to make me aware of people’s need so that I could pray and if possible, physically do something to help.

My thoughts and prayers have been with the teenagers and pre-teens. The world is so ‘open’ to violence, interpretive truth and sexuality, and it is unnerving. I have chosen not to worry about it because as noble as worrying may seem, it is contrary to my faith. Instead I have committed to praying and showing an alternative through my music, blogs and daily interactions. You see I have noticed that if I allow myself to get stuck at the point of worry, my faith is non-existent and I start to feel overwhelmed. The problems in the world seem too large and I can get into the mindset of ‘how will it ever change?’. I have seen that this type of thinking is useless and gets no results. If anything it just adds to the problem. So today I spent time thinking about all God has already done and how great He is. I prayed for the leaders in my church and in the community who work with the young people. I pray that they will have the wisdom, strength and boldness to do all God has called them to do. I pray that they will be able to hear His voice clearly. I pray the same for the young people and their leaders in your community too.

NM x

Listen to my podcast here.

My book on beauty and self – esteem is available here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009TOB9LC

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

