What it means to be free.

Today is a special day for me. I am Zambian and this day 50 years ago we broke free from British colonial rule. Since then we have enjoyed peace. I thank God. I won’t go into the politics of our economy because that just invites too many questions and arguments. Instead I choose to reflect on what it means to be free personally.

I believe that a Nation gains strength when the individuals one by one live to the best of their ability; seeking to love and build one another. When each is invested in each other and loves their brother and sister equally, if not more than themselves. But above all, I believe personal freedom in mind, body and soul can only and will only be achieved when the first love is God and all focus is on loving Him.

You see love is a complete way of being. No single action can ever ‘prove’ you love someone or something. Instead a way of living where we are devoted to a life of serving; committed to doing the true, helpful, valuable things that set ourselves and others free to be our best self. The self God designed us to be.

So today I pray that we will all make that freedom our focus. For Zambia I pray in the powerful Name of Jesus that from today and every day after, all of us will seek that freedom so that as a Nation we become God’s best for us. Amen.  One Zambia One Nation.

We fought to be free from human oppression by a foreign nation.
Let us not be our own captives.
Looking forward to all that is before us, optimistic that the change ahead will be greatest.
Let us not be our own captives.
To invest is to strengthen the people, creating opportunities that benefit all.
Let us not be our own captives.
The diamond in the rough, like our people: hidden stars.
Let us not be our own captives.
Shine Jesus Shine, through our people show your light.
Let us…

NM x

Listen to my pocast here.

image

My book on beauty and self – esteem is available here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009TOB9LC

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

