Pain: Will I ever get over this part 2

image

I saw the words above and thought about how sad it is that independence has been distorted. Yes it is good to be able to get on with things; not being frozen by people approval and a need to always have somone cheering you on. Yes, I get that not everyone will be on your side or understand and believe in your dreams but there has to be a balance. I have found in my own life that it is when I get hurt that I start putting on the whole ‘I don’t need anyone mask on’. When I have shared my ideas with someone and they have told me all the reasons it won’t work or when I have trusted in someone to do something that is important to me and they have let me down….in these times I quickly start to cover up and protect myself from my heartbreak my convincing myself that I do not need anyone. You k ow what I have learned – I actually do!

No man is an island, we are not formed to be loners completely void of love and emotion. We are not made to live in isolation – that is why it is a punishment for the most horrendous of crimes and a torture treatment.  I get myself out of the isolation rut by letting go of the pain. I give myself time for God to heal my hurts and instead of letting my heart harden, I believe in love and wholeness again.

You see people will let us down. We let people down, but that’s the nature of relationship. We are all growing and on a journey. We cannot let a season of pain or one hurt cut that journey short and strip us of all joy.

Love and Live!

NM x

Listen to my podcast on emotions here.

My book on beauty and self – esteem is available here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009TOB9LC

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

