Pain: Can I ever get over this?

If you read my post yesterday, you will know that I had an emotional weekend. Pain galore. If you have not ready it, you can check it out here. In the post I discuss how I challenged myself to forgive by focusing on God and not the situation. Writing the post I started thinking about how I questioned if I would ever get over the hurt. If you would have asked me on the weekend, I was seriously unsure. However after listening to a sermon on emotional discipline, I started healing and now I am determined to forgive and move on despite my body and feelings telling me no. I have decided not to be led by my emotions because I know they change and are unreliable.

What happens when you are not able to handle the hateful or hurt emotions? What happens when someone has done the unthinkable to you and you literally do not have the strength to move on? I understand that some wrongs it seems like it is literally impossible to move past. In these situations I truly believe it is only God that can step in and perform a miraculous reconciliation. In those circumstances, I go to God and I tell Him “I can’t do this God. I need you to help me. Help me to love this person like you do and focus on your everlasting love instead of my hurt”. I find that what God shows me and how He heals me after this prayer, is truly a miracle.

Whatever it is – you can get past it. With God.

Listen to my prayer journey here.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

