Is there a right time to give up?

Recently I have had an answer to prayer. It was a prayer that I had for several years and at times I doubted myself. I questioned if I could have the patience until the prayer was answered. You see I knew God was going to come through because I had read His Word (The Bible) and I knew it was His will for me to have what I was praying for. The hard part was the waiting and growing in the season I was in until I had the breakthrough.

A question I often asked myself was: is there a good time for me to give up? I tried to talk myself into finding a way to believe that not waiting would be ok. It never worked. I knew that if I was unable to see this course through, I would simply start from scratch in another one until I was transformed and grew in the way God knew I could. I did not want to take a seeming step forward and set myself 1000 steps back. So I waited.

What made the waiting bearable was taking the time to listen to sermons and reading my Bible. I began to experience a change in my heart and mind and was so encouraged by the woman I was becoming that the focus on my ‘issue’ lessened. So if you are at the stage where you are waiting on something, I would encourage you to spend more time with God so that you start to see things the way He does. Then you will not give up. It will be impossible to.

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is there a right time to give up?

  1. Prayer does work but God’s timing and ours are like night and day. I am glad you held on like Jacob. God blesses.

Leave a Reply

