Things I am growing in after turning 25…. part 3

  • Life is short – every second counts

I remember when my parents used to tell me that as they got older and got married, had kids etc, a lot of their friends and parents of their friends died. It now appears that I am at that age where I am being faced almost weekly with news of deaths. When it first started happening a year ago, it was a big blow. I literally stopped functioning well and got stuck in this dark place where I could not understand why people had to go. Of course I know that everyone does not last forever, but when people you know and love are taken away, it changes you. It has taken me over a year to fully get my head around this and I am sure as I hear of more loss, I will continue to change and each loss will affect me differently emotionally. However one good thing to come from all of this is that I am more determined and focused now to live life according to my gifts and talents.

There are issues in the world, in my life, with people I know, that have a new perspective now. To know that days are numbered can be a great wake up call. For me it has been that push for living beyond mediocre.

I think if we really understood all that we overcome through God’s grace, narrow misses, the things that have happened to us and have made us stronger – we would not simply plod along.

 

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

