School, university, exam grades and what I do with my life now.

I was having a conversation with a younger girl yesterday about finishing school.  She had finished her A-Levels and we were discussing her next steps. Where as in my day uni was pretty much the default,  now there are a lot of options. And, these are good options that hold equal weight as a degree and will not be frowned upon. Having the conversation reminded me of when I was deciding what to do next.

I rememebr feeling so conflicted; knowing my passion was the arts but also wanting to have a ‘back up plan’ because I did not want to be a broke artist. It was so hard deciding to do physiology and phramacology at uni…(doesnt matter because I hated it in the end and after 3 weeks, moved over to humanities to complete a degree in English Language and Literature.). Looking back I sometimes forget the torment it caused me. So, I wrote this post for those about to make a major life decision in relation to personal development.

Since university I have had a few jobs in different sectors, working with polar opposite personalities and finding out new things about myself daily. When I started the journey I had no idea and literally felt so lost and alone. It felt like if I made the wrong decision, my life would be doomed for ever.  Looking back I see I blew it all out of proportion. Yes, the decisions were big but things always work out. I believe that with the right attitude, mindset and willing to give it all you have got (and faith in God), things will work themselves out. It is important to plan and think ahead and do your best where you are at. However stressing and thinking you are doomed do not help.

Oftentimes you have to do a couple of things consistently and try different roads to get to your destination. Ultimately you can only build the best case with what you have now to make your decision.  Ask people what they think (people you know care about you and experts in the area you may want to go). But ultimately you have to make the decision.  Trust that you are wise enough, brave enough and bold enough to do all you want and have to do.

Even of it does not work out, you tried. That is the most important thing. Try.

NM x

My book on beauty and self – esteem is available here (copy and paste into your search bar) : http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009TOB9LC

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, inspiration, life, Purpose in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to School, university, exam grades and what I do with my life now.

  1. Interesting post. I think that getting a degree in fine arts or whatever, doesn’t lock you in a career field. We never stop growing, as you indicate. I’m now in my 60s and am glad I had a degree in journalism, but I also had many other interest that I pursued, but still had a paycheck that allowed me to do many of those things. I loved the insight you have into yourself.

Leave a Reply

