Finding the spark to really live again: Day 5

  1. In Life, you don’t get anywhere or do anything you hope to without some sort of sacrifice. – Stephen Saad

Sacrifice is such a powerful force for change. When we learn to sacrifice we are faced with a new self that challenges the selfishness and vanity within us. We learn that there was something we thought we would be unable to do without – but actually we can. A habit, food, use of time that we considered absolutely necessary and almost became a slave to but then we let it go… the amazing thing is, we find freedom in that sacrifice.

An example for me would be sleep…I sacrificed an hour of sleep each morning to take up Pilates. In the beginning it was so hard. I fought with myself every time my alarm went off. I tried to think of excuses – reasons why to continue sleeping would be the better option but no excuse was good enough. Strange thing is, when I got up, did the Pilates, showered and went to work, I felt great! I had so much more energy, felt way more alive and my brain was super sharp! To sacrifice an hour of sleep has impacted my life way more than I could have ever imagined and I have gained a lot more than having that hour of sleep could ever give me.

I have found that the abundance gained from sacrifice is part of the package. We give now to get later. For you it might be learning how to sacrifice a specific food, or some of your money, or a date night here or there to work a bit longer – as long as it is building you/ your life or someone else’s life up, go for it! I have learned a lot more about myself through sacrifice than I ever have by constantly giving in and being led by my passions. I have seen how strong, resilient, patient, gracious, loving – and so many other things I can be.

Nissi Knows xx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in inspiration, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding the spark to really live again: Day 5

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ALWAYS SACRIFICE FOR THE GOOD.

Leave a Reply

