Finding the spark to really live again: Day 4

  1. The harder you work, the luckier you get. – Mike Adenuga

For the longest time different people have said to me ‘Failure to plan is planning to fail’…Having been burned a couple (well actually several times) for failing to plan, I can confidently say this is absolute truth. The older I get, the more I experience I am seeing that planning and working hard to be ready way before you have to be ready is an absolute essential for our life toolbox. What does that mean for you and I? In whatever you do, you likely have a desire either pronounced or buried deep under too much self-consciousness, to want to succeed. That is a good thing. However the difference between those that go on to do so and those that do not is – luck/ God depending or your beliefs and the indisputable – building the skill/ craft/ knowledge.

Let’s break this down a little….say for example you want to perform with a big star or on a big stage but you never practice and have poor technique. When the opportunity arises – you will not be ready. Someone else will get it and gush about how blessed/ lucky they are….yeah they might have been but to an extent they were also more ready than you. They had their A game and you had…let’s not even go there. Or you might want to get a promotion at work. While others have studied and been on training to improve and exceed the needs of their current job, you have stuck to the bare minimum and abounded in complaints (which may I add simply wear you out and have no value). When the position for promotion comes up – you apply with the same CV you had 3 years ago when you first got the job and they apply with their updated, up to date skills CV…You know who got the job right…

So how do we move from constantly being caught off guard and getting ‘luckier’…we:

  1. Decide where we want to be
  2. Identify areas we need to strengthen ourselves
  3. Make a weekly plan to strengthen
  4. Incorporate small changes to our daily routine to ensure we are progressing against the plan
  5. When opportunity arises – we aready or at least day getting better to be ready for the opportunity

Ready – Steady – Go!

Nissi Knows xx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in inspiration, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

