Is fear of failure stopping you from doing more/ living free?

Fear of failure is a major problem that has a lot of people living lives less than what they were made for. The psalmist states ‘your right hand will hold me fast’. You might be in a situation that seems impossible or in a place that seems so far from God that you are scared to take a step to make a change because you think it will not work. Let me reassure you that God is there in your situation and the only way you can truly have a fulfilled life is by inviting Him in. Things may seem dark but even in the darkness and pain God will be your light and life. You see life is not about having no problems and waiting for everything to be rosy. Truth be told you will more than likely always have some sort of trouble. The key is to learn to lean on God no matter what and trust that even when it is dark and you cannot see where to place your next step – God is there carefully guiding you. Placing your feet so that even if you cannot see , He is there and surely in control. We can go nowhere or be in no situation that can separate us from the love of God.

Psalm 139: 13 – 18

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.

The terrible thing about fear is that it cripples us from being who we are. When living in fear we are consumed by thoughts of doing things that other people will judge us for e.g. ‘people will think who am I to do that’/ ‘people will think I am stupid’/ ‘People will laugh if I fail’…all of these may be true, but – so what? In all honesty people have no right to make those judgments – they should be focusing on their own lives. Instead of living your life worrying about all that could go wrong or playing mind reader to other people’s irrelevant thoughts, focus on what matters – you. God has made you perfect with a purpose.

Read more about overcoming fear in my book ‘Beauty Full’: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beauty-Full-Nissi-Mutale-ebook/dp/B009TOB9LC

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

