Doing something today your future self will thank you for.

It has been a while! I have been busy living life! Those who know me will know that I believe that you have to live to write. Literature and life go hand in hand. So I have been doing just that…soaking myself in my everyday life and enjoying and learning from the moment. I had taken a step back from blogging as I felt that my writing was getting a bit superficial – writing for writings sake and I didn’t like it. Over the past couple of months there have been several changes in my personal relationships that have led me to review myself. I have become aware of some things within me that I need to change to allow me to grow and function as my best self. Part of that was/is learning how to be a good steward of what God has given me.

You see as a Christian I believe that God has given me the breath, life and time I have to show the world who He is. I believe that I am alive to live an awesome life showing others the love of God. However my unique experiences, talents and personality mean that I have something special to give the world, something only I can give. There is no one made like me. So if I am not at my best, I am not simply disadvantaging myself, there are other people I can bless who I do not go on to do so…Now do not get me wrong, God can use other people, situations and things but how unfortunate would it be for me to be stuck living a lesser life. Pretty sucky!

As a result I have taken sometime to really think about how I would be if I was doing the best I could with my time, my gifts, my personality, and the effect it would have on the people around me. I have spent time thinking about the lives that would be changed by my taking the time to listen instead of always being caught up in myself, the people I could bless with my time – teaching skills I have, the people who would have their lives changes by listening to the songs and blogs I had written. I have started at the end and thought about what I would need to do to get there. This has led me to review my daily routine: what redundant things am I doing? How much time do I spend in fruitless activity, simply wasting time or money? If I am honest, there is too much on these lists of ‘waste’ and I am in the process of re-doing my daily routine so that I can be getting the best out of my day and ultimately my life. The amazing thing is by being a better me, I have more capacity to be a bigger blessing. That is what really excites me.

It’s great being back!

Nissi!

p.s. check out my books in the side bar. Cheers xx

The decisions you make today are the reality you will live tomorrow – Paula White.

p.s. check out my books in the side bar. Cheers xx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing something today your future self will thank you for.

  1. Michelle says:

    Lovely post, I having been thinking the same sort of thing over the past few days too. Going into to 2014 on such a positive vibe is exciting.

Leave a Reply

