Between the doors: patience during the unknown

Increasing our faith is necessary when God closes one door and opens another. It is in between those doors that our faith is developed – TD Jakes

So we have completed the ‘Reconnect’ series for now….Just as I finished typing day 7, I came across the words by TD Jakes. I remember being super, super, super impatient. I mean I literally could not wait a couple of days for new shoes, when I wanted to change my hair, I kept myself, my friends and my sister up all night until we were all agreed on what my next hairstyle would be. I was literally a now or never kind of person. I also put this pressure on people around me. So if I was working with a group on a project, we had to agree on things at that moment (and what I mean by agree is that everyone had to agree with me)…Thankfully I have grown a little bit and God has taught me how to wait in several different ways. When I felt like I was bursting if I did not get an answer immediately, God allowed me to wait…guess what. I did not burst, and I learned that sometimes, you just have to wait. I learned the importance of seasons. Namely that this waiting period is a time for us to reflect, grown, get positioned for what is to come.

I saw TD Jakes’ words on my face book feed and was taken back to the times when waiting in between the doors were my worst hours, days, weeks, months, years. I think it is great to look back every so often and see how far we have come. To celebrate our growth.  The 24 year old me is able to look back on the 18 year old me and say ‘you see, waiting to fall in love did not kill you’. And I am happy it did not happen then. The lessons, experiences I have been through, I can only imagine how I would have delay with them in my teenage ecstasy where every emotion was big. I am able to look back and say ‘you did not become famous …and that also did not kill you’. In fact I enjoy the life I have now. I love the people in it, the way I am learning in music, I love it.

I guess I am encouraging you to enjoy that between the door time. I have learned (and am still learning), that the time between the doors is a beautiful time. It is the time for us to catch our breathe, rest and gather ourselves for the inevitable challenge and blessing of a new chapter.

Enjoy

Nissi.

 

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Between the doors: patience during the unknown

  1. April says:

    God puts us in different seasons in our lifetime..each season we experience is for a reason and all a part of his molding us into His likeness…sharing this on my Facebook Page, Thoughts From The Porch.
    Have a blessed weekend!
    April

Leave a Reply

