In search of Peace: Reconnect: Day 4

James 1:2-4

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

This week I woke up and read the words above and God just showed me something about myself. It wasn’t a new revelation but this time it seemed to really hit home…As in I fully got it. I was empowered with the knowledge that my current struggles were working to produce a better me. The me I had been praying to God to produce. The humble, kind, sweet understanding person I prayed on becoming. I understood that I was now in situations where my patience would be tested and my pride pricked and all my buttons pushed so that I could learn not to let the monster in me reign, but the woman of God who God knows I can be.

You see I had always know that I had to be careful with my prayers because God is listening. What I had not completely understood is the suddenly, or gradual aspect of it. God has His won perfect time and way of doing things. I had prayed with an image of how I thought God would work things out. That is where I went wrong. I prayed expecting God to do things my way or in a way I was prepared for or understood, but God is God. His ways are perfect and all He does is for the best. I read the words above and knew that instead of shrinking away from my struggles and becoming disheartened by them, I had to embrace them.

James encouragement to persevere so that I can become mature and lacking nothing showed me that giving up would leave me lacking. I understood that if I chose to be stubborn and handle situations my way instead of God’s way, I would not grow. I want to grow! So I prayed for God to help me come out of my feelings and be led by Him.

I continue to pray that prayer.

Reconnect.

Nissi.

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

