In search of Peace: Reconnect: Day 2

In the last blog posts we looked at the importance of recognising the only way to be fulfilled is to be connected to God. After all what does it profit a man to gain the whole world but loose his soul? Today I thought it would be great to explore The Bible a bit more. It is often taken for granted that if you have an interest in getting closer to God that you will automatically know how to read The Bible. That is not the case. I have found that depending on the season in my life I take different approaches to my Bible reading. Now what I present here is not the gospel truth. I have not been to Bible college or anything like that. However I have enjoyed a close relationship with God for a number of years. God has seen me through the good, the great, the bad and the ugly. Through my teens he was my anchor and now as I stumble down the rocky path of womanhood, he continues to be there.

So how do you read The Bible? That depends…what are you looking to get from it? What questions do you have? Are you looking for stories to inspire and encourage you or do you want to know more about the life of Jesus and who God is? Asking yourself these questions will enable you to read the parts of The Bible that will engage, feed and enrich you. No matter what you are looking to get from your reading the number one rule I live by is: quality over quantity. By this I mean read for understanding and a life changing encounter with God. Read so that your heart and mind are changed for good. Do not simply skim huge chunks. Number one you are unlikely to remember anything and number two, you will get bored. The Bible is such a powerful collection of some of the wisest words known to mankind Christian and unchristian alike.

Ok so lets look at the basics. At the front of The Bible there is a table of contents. This gives you a list of the books in The Bible and their page numbers. If you go to the back there is often an index where you can search for certain topics e.g. worry, marriage etc. So if you are reading to know more about the life of Jesus you need to be looking at the New Testaments. To read about the story of Creation and God’s first purpose for mankind look at Genesis – the first book in The Bible. For words of wisdom to grow in all areas of life, the book of Proverbs is for you.

Here I have highlighted a few areas. However as you look at The Bible for yourself, you will know what season you are in and what to read next.

 

Reconnect.

Nissi.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

