In search of Peace: Reconnect: Day 1

What does it profit a man to gain the whole world but loose his soul? Mark 8:36. The beauty and wisdom of the words of The Bible never cease to amaze and enlighten me. In my last blog posts I explained that I would look at reconnecting with self over the next couple of days. I was thinking about the best way to start this series. Thought about the way I could start with a solid foundation. A foundation that would connect and enrich every other post to follow. I started thinking about the route of our existence and what we are in the world to. What is my purpose in life? What is the purpose of every human being. I thought about all these things and came back to the same answer. The reason why I am here, the reason why we are all here is to love. What does it mean to love? God is love so to show love is to show each other God right. So…in a nutshell if what I am doing is not of God and showing or drawing others closer to God, I should not be doing it.

 

What does God have to do with reconnecting with self? Each and every time I have found myself in a bad place, it is because I am not in tune with what God is trying to show me. Notice I said bad, not uncomfortable. What is the difference? A bad place is shutting God out and not being sensitive to the change and growth he is trying to give you. An uncomfortable place recognizes that growing in God is not easy, but that this is a necessary period to move to new heights. You see at the hearty of reconnecting with yourself is recognizing that we are all created to connect to our Creator. Apart from the God who created, knows and loves us – we can never enjoy the fullness of who we are meant to be.

 

Put simply without the relationship with our Creator we can never connect or even come close to knowing our true selves.

 

So as a starting point I want us to all think about areas in our lives where we know things are not right. I want us to think about all the things we have tried in our own power to put the matter to rest. Now think about how uneasy it made you. Poor sleeping patterns, eating all the wrong things, a mounting lists of things we plan to do but never get round to doing because we do not have the mental space to focus. Now let go of everything. Use this moment to invite God in. Relax your shoulders, breath slowly and deeply and commit from now on to connect with God daily for yourself. This could be a moment of quiet when you wake up. Read a few scriptures and let them sink in. It could be with some worship music on our journey to work. It could even be finding a quiet space to sit during your lunch break to shake off the stress of the day and ask God to show you how to relax and find Him in the everyday moments.

 

Reconnect.

 

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In search of Peace: Reconnect: Day 1

  1. WELL SAID SISTER, PEACE AND LOVE AND PROSPERITY

Leave a Reply

