Friends, Foes, Family and Future.

image

I saw this picture this morning and it got me thinking about the different people in our lives and the effects they have on us. The past few years, I have come to believe that knowing the difference between friends, foes, family and future, is very important. Life takes you on an exciting journey of highs, lows, alright and everything inbetween. We form relationships with people depending on what stage we are in and sometimes, just sometimes God Blesses us with those people who are there through all seasons. Friends for a lifetime. However a lot of the time I have found myself in difficult and painful situations when I have not paid attention to the season I am in and ended up trying to make a seasonal friend a lifetime one.

Now why is knowing this difference so important? Having the wrong people around can mean that they speak into your mind and life in negative ways. You know that friend you were once close with and now you are on different wavelengths. You have a dream and vision for your life going one way but he/she maybe does not even have dreams. You are focused on progressing and building yourself, while he/she cannot seem to imagine life getting any better. All the time you spend with them,they complain. The effect of their negativity is another thing you have to battle against. You need to decide if it is a battle you want to take on.

Sometimes our friends have turned into our foes and we are too busy playing buddy to notice. However if all they do is poision and trample your thoughts and dreams….move on.

Then there’s family. Bless em! These people God has put in our lives to encourage, challenge and love us. We did not get to choose these ones. What I have found is we just have to know our family members. To really take the time to understand where they come from mentally, spiritually and emotionally. Then we have a guide in terms of who we can share what with. Sharing a great thing with a family member who is not in the right mental and emotional space to receive it, could end with a mental trampling and disheartening you could have avoided.

Take the time to know your season and the people in it.

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends, Foes, Family and Future.

  1. conjurors says:

    Awesome quote and I love your analysis. My dad always says some people “fill your bucket” and some “empty your bucket”. I try to stay close with those who fill my bucket and do the same for them in return.

Leave a Reply

