Reconnecting with self: beyond self doubt

The first time I let my first blog post go live I was petrified about what people would think of me. It was the same thing when I posted my first youtube video or did my first poetry performance. I had this deep set belief that I was in some way not good enough.  After much soul searching, Bible reading, chats with friends and family I put the feeling down to insecurities I had not yet addressed. It was hard to accept that I was suffering from insecurity because I am usually so confident. However the fear I felt about how people would react to my work made me face the fact that maybe I was not as confident as I thought.

Now in line with the blog series I have been writing about ‘reconnecting with self’ I thought it would be great to reflect on how I got from lost to love. How I managed to pull myself out of a state of constant fear of judgment and stopping myself from doing things I was passionate about doing simply because somebody might say something that would hurt my feelings. I have since learned that part of being at peace with yourself is loving and being comfortable with who you are. Without this love it is very hard to fearlessly be you and live in passionate pursuit of your divine destiny.

So let’s look at society for a second – media has taken it upon itself to make us envy the stars. The magazines will post pictures of celebrities with cellulite and stretch marks and ridicule what we all know is natural. We all know that the pictures where people seem without blemish are photo shopped yet we all still beat ourselves up for not looking like that picture of so and so that has been passed through so many computer programs that the celeb themselves probably would have no idea it was them if their face did not have a vague resemblance of their own and their name above it. Nevertheless we go around with feelings of dissatisfaction and refuse to believe that we are perfect because….no-one is perfect right??

Wrong. You are perfect, I am perfect, we are all perfect. Wearing a dissatisfaction of yourself just to fit in with what everyone else does is one of the most shallow and pitiful things you can do. Why? Because thinking like the majority you will never go further than the majority. Those who achieve and live their dreams are those who believe they can. By all means have an off day  everyone can and does feel fat, ugly, stupid, lonely or whatever it might be once in a while but do not let it be your badge for life. I mean think about it, how does it help you to think less of yourself? How does it help you to try to be like a picture in a magazine? How does it help you to try to be anything but the unique person you were created to be?

Read more here

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, health and beauty, life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

