Stress no more! Here on borrowed time.

image

Happy Birthday to meeee! Today I gained another year. I thank God for blessing me thus far. Every year I always reflect and think about how far I’ve come, what I am yet to achieve and what I can do better. However those who know me also know I can be really hard on myself. In line with the last post about ‘reconnecting with self’ I thought I would use this post to talk about how I have had to condition my mind to be less judgmental.

Now do not get me wrong, having high standards is great. We should always be looking for ways to better ourselves and step outside of our comfort zones. However this self analysis can sometimes take a negative turn and have us talking down to ourselves. We can begin to belittle our achievements, focus on what we do not have instead of appreciating what we do have and generally putting ourselves under unnecessary pressure. We need to learn to be kinder to ourselves.

From when I turned 22 I did not look on gaining another year as exciting. I started looking at all I said I would have done by a certain age and moaning about all that had not be done. I then had the very wise words from someone I love and trust. He reminded me that I am here on borrowed time. I have divine purpose – something God put me specifically on this earth to do. Also as a follower and believer in Jesus Christ my daily aim is to be more and more like Him. When I look at my goals and personal ambitions in light of my purpose in God, my perspective is completely changed. I am less self centered and think more about how I can serve. Instead of thinking me, my, I think how can I do more for You Lord.

So what am I saying? The key to stress is being consumed by ourselves. Once we take our eyes off ourselves and focus on God we find peace with ourselves and others. I feel so blessed to be alive because I know at my best in God, I can be my best for myself and others.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, health and beauty, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stress no more! Here on borrowed time.

  1. Candy S says:

    Happy Birthday!!

Leave a Reply

