Do you have to be great to get started?

image

It amazes me how much untapped talent we have in the world. Amongst just my friends and family I know so many people who are amazingly gifted in various things. Be it the arts, cooking, befriending people, organising parties, I know a tonne of people who are great and seemingly do not even know it. I am sure you do too…Maybe that person is you. So why do we underestimate ourselves? I think it is a lie the devil has us caught up in so that we remain frustrated and do not live our lives to the full potential God intended. You see when others believe you are nothing it is bad but as long as you know the truth about yourself then you have nothing to worry about. However when you believe you are nothing it is fatal because it is very hard to rise above what you think of yourself. A few years ago I chose to believe that by faith I could do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I chose to be patient with myself and my growth. It is not always easy, especially when I can clearly see where I want to be. I have heard it said that you have to be in it to win it. Do not wait until you are perfect to start because you will never be. Focus on starting where you are and committing to getting better. Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do you have to be great to get started?

  1. Fear of leaving the comfort zone. That one where you are sure of not failing.
    The problem is starting.

  2. jengreenberg says:

    Great post! So true! I am listening to a Joel Osteen audiobook right now and he was saying how so often we underestimate the FAVOR that God has planned for us and we only seek for and pray for such SMALL things – bare minimums! Like.. “God just get me thru this day”…….whereas we should be having FAITH to know he has so much more in store for us. We don’t have to be GREAT because God is great for us!! So that is my new thing now – having supersized faith and belief and dreaming and praying BIGGER instead of just the minimum 🙂
    Love your blog!! 🙂

  3. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    HI Nissi,
    So true….nothing more else to say, other than have a great week. 😉

Leave a Reply

