The importance of values

image

The great thing about good parents is that they usually end up being right. I remember having my reasons why I knew better than my mum and dad…Sometimes I still do. Nevertheless I have tasted humble pie and realised that there was one thing that if I had listened to when they first told me how important it is, I would have saved myself a lot of trouble. That thing is the importance of values.

Now more than ever we live in deception. How hard is it to know who people are and what they believe? Celebrity culture, obsessions with trends and staying in the loop has a lot of people clutching at straws and chasing after the wind. It seems daily I am having to fight to stay true to myself and what I believe is right. Ever felt like that?

The great thing is that there is a way to stay grounded. Values. Do you know what you stand for? Do you have core beliefs? What are your standards? If you do not know the answers to any of the above maybe it is time to do some soul searching.

Who are you?

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, health and beauty, life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The importance of values

  1. Michelle says:

    How true! I see our core values as a little voice pointing us in the right direction when it comes to our actions/reactions, choices and words. Sometimes this is easy and comes about instinctually, but I find when making choices and decisions that are a little more difficult or challenging it always works out best for me, if I take a little time and check in on my values. It is only when I fail to follow these core values that I seem to go off onto the wrong track. The older I get, the more in touch with the “true me” I get and the happier I feel.

Leave a Reply

