Why pray? The importance of prayer in the iGeneration.

Ever feel like life is getting the best of you? Feel like you are losing control and barely know who you are anymore? I often feel like this. Life is often crazy busy and it is so easy to get swept up and away in the necessary and unnecessary cares of the world. Having an android phone it seems emaild, tweets, facebook and everythin inbetween are constantly draining my time. There is only one way I manage to stay grounded, at peace and filled with a new burst of life and joy. How? Prayer.

I am a christian and believe that we were all created by God. I believe that God is the maker of all things and all knowing and all seeing. For that reason it makes perfect sense to me to get to know God so that in spite of all the chaos and busyness of life, I know God is in control and has a plan so I can keep my peace.

You see prayer is simply talking and listening to God. There is nothing creepy or weird about it. It is developing an intimate relatioship with our Father God who loves and cares about us. So how do I pray? I express what is on my heart and mind. If I am worried, I say so. If I am happy, I say so. I also pray throughout the day so if I need help making a decision or need to calm do I pray saying ‘God help me’. It can be that short.

As the world develops and technology runs away with itself, it is important we are grounded and have a belief and relationship with the unchanging, all powerful and loving God. I start and end my day with prayers, read my Bible and listen to gospel music to help feed and nourish this relatioship. You can too.

2 Corinthians 5:5-8 NLT

God himself has prepared us for this, and as a guarantee he has given us his Holy Spirit.
So we are always confident, even though we know that as long as we live in these bodies we are not at home with the Lord. For we live by believing and not by seeing. Yes, we are fully confident, and we would rather be away from these earthly bodies, for then we will be at home with the Lord.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why pray? The importance of prayer in the iGeneration.

  1. glow47 says:

    prayers are always important, they allow us to keep in contact with our deep beliefs.

Leave a Reply

