What do your habits say about you?

Lately I have been reading and listening to a couple of talks on routines. Most people seem to agree that our habits make us the people we are today. You cannot change your life without creating new habits and reviewing the small things you do daily. The most obvious example is the way our bodies look – by looking at somebody you can often tell their eating and exercise habits (or lack of).

Looking at myself now I can see why I am the way I am and it is because of thought patterns I adopted as a child. During my teens I decided that I was going to be spontaneous in life and therefore refused to plan ahead. This thinking sort of worked in secondary school, I started to spot holes during university but now I own my own business – it has blown up in my face. I decided that I wanted to work for myself and adventure into the world of business but the way I live has caused an issue. Because my desire for creative autonomy and financial freedom is bigger than the the pull of laziness – I have had to change.

That buzz word ‘change’ – so big to achieve all at once but major headway is made when we become convicted to master our small everyday behaviour. I have had to ( and am still in the process of reconditioning my mind).

It is Must do Monday. Join me in making a habit of putting first things first and killing procrastination!

Nissi.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, health and beauty, life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What do your habits say about you?

  1. Ginny Jaques says:

    “Must do Monday.” I like that. But Mondays have always been frustrating days for me. For some reason I have a hard time starting the week. So I finally lowered my expectations of what I’m going to get done on Mondays. I give myself mindless, mundane tasks for those days–maintenance ones that produce visible (though ephemeral) results but help prepare me for doing more important projects the rest of the week. And instead of kicking myself for not getting much done, I give myself a pat on the back if I complete only one or two of them.

    It works. By Tuesday I feel better. I’ve caught my breath, my house is cleaner, I have clean clothes to wear, and I feel like I’ve accomplished something, even if it’s not earth-shattering or destiny-fulfilling. I suspect you need to give yourself the same kind of break, Nissi. You’re obviously a productive person. But you can’t do everything every day. Take heart from the old Chinese proverb that says, “The ox is slow, but the earth has time.”

    • I could not agree more Ginny. I like your method of doing the smaller tasks that have visible results on the Monday. I might have to start doing that more myself. For example I had a little clean out this morning and seeing the change in my environment although not a huge task, was deeply fulfilling. The blog post is more a push in the direction of creating these little habits and ways of working so that we are that little bit more efficient. I find myself more stressed when I simply neglect everything because soon enough it creeps up on me. What do you think?
      Nissi.

      • Ginny Jaques says:

        I totally agree with you, too Nissi. I totally see your point, and it’s one well taken. When I procrastinate about the important things, I get really depressed, and the things I’m putting off grow from molehill-sized tasks into mountain-sized ones in my mind. The mental state I’m in about it all is so important. I need to recondition!

        I need to take your advice and apply it to my blogging “routine,” the one I don’t have yet! I know blogging regularly is what I’m supposed to be doing right now, but I find I’m so unmotivated that I just can’t seem to get started. That needs to CHANGE. And you’re so right about change. It’s HARD! But I’m going to try to do this. Starting tomorrow which is Tuesday.

        Oh, wait. We’re going out of town tomorrow. Sigh. Well, then next Tuesday, July 31st. I will pledge to create three blog posts that day, and also design my new wordpress blog, which I discovered I have, quite accidentally, from this comment process with you.

        I will remind myself that I told you this, so I will have to do it. 😉

        Thank you. You’re a blessing. I wish we could meet one day in real time.

  2. Some “changes” require little effort like changing a light bulb or changing your socks…but changing one’s habits? Egad, that’s worse for most people than changing the nastiest of diapers! Might be easier to phone the pope or walk from New York City to Los Angeles barefoot in JANUARY!

    KUDOS to you for taking the first step toward change…admitting that, perhaps, alternate actions/habits are needed!

    Secondly, GOOD LUCK with actually ENACTING said modification(s)!!

    Best,
    Tenacious Bitch

Leave a Reply

