We were created for today.

I was editing a clients manuscript – a memoir about the beauty of overcoming. As I read the words and  made the necessary changes, it sparked a joy in me about life. I was reassured once again that no matter what life throws at you, if our strength and anchor is in the right thing – God, we can overcome anything. Sometimes what we go through is painful, uncomfortable, odd, seemingly unnecessary and many other things. However because we only see the middle i.e where we are, we can never fully understand the context of the situation relative to the rest of our lives and the order of the universe.

I read these words by June Jordan ‘We are the ones we have been waiting for’. I was struck because we often wonder why we are living through certain moments. How different our lives would be if we fully understood we were uniquely created for this time!

Embrace Now!!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We were created for today.

  1. Wow! Love it! Thanks for sharing June’s quote and these wonderful words of hope! Keep on keepin’ on!

  2. glow47 says:

    Very well put my dear. Your thoughts go well with my thoughts on how i see beauty. i believe people, mostly teens go to extremes to change their looks because they heel stuck. we’re here for a purpose. why my beauty blogs are here to help guide you through those times with helpful tips. I will keep reading to see what u inspire next my dear.

Leave a Reply

