The importance of peace…(even with crazy road rage drivers)

I was so keen to get my drivers license. There was nothing worse than waking up on a cold and rainy morning in London knowing that I have a wet walk to the station or bus stop. The minute I started driving I thought I had stopped many problems in life. It turns out the problems now come in a different form…cRaZy DRivers?!!! Seriously who lets some of these people on the road? I was minding my own business driving at the speed limit, stopping to let pregnant women cross the road and doing the things I though sensible, self-respecting drivers do. Turns out my code of conduct is different from so many other drivers. I have literally spent the last week thanking God for  my life because some racer driver made the mistake of bringing his or her ‘skills’  on to domestic roads. ***Nissi stay calm***

Anyway you know me I try to draw lessons from absolutely everything. I noticed that I was getting very uptight and losing myself to restrained road rage. I had to stop and think – do I really want some random driver controlling my mood for the day? Of course I don’t.

It is the same in life. Often we find ourselves so frustrated and angry over things we do not have control over. The devil is a liar and will use all sorts of cunning to try and get us to act out and become a person we do not want to be. It is human nature to want to point fingers and blame other people for our attitude. Ironically one of the few things we have control over is ourselves. Every time I feel myself winding up (and I go from 0 to 100 pretty quickly) I have to remind myself that it is not worth it. Anything I can control – I do. Anything I cannot – I hand over to God.

Peace.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The importance of peace…(even with crazy road rage drivers)

  1. Great post, Nissi, and your last sentence summarized faith in a nutshell! 🙂

Leave a Reply

