What does it mean to live in the Light?

I woke up this morning with excitement in my heart. I am looking forward to an amazing day ahead! I have set a reminder on my Bible reading app for every 7 o’clock so the minute I pick up my phone instead of rushing to my emails or tweets, I start the day with God. Starting the day with the creator of the universe is the most amazing thing because it puts me in the right frame of mind. It is a time to focus on Him, on all the matters and let go of unnecessary burdens.

Anyway this morning I read the following:

‘5 This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all[b] sin.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us.’

I read the passage and immediately began thinking about the times I had read this in my teens. I really struggled with the idea of God being Light and having no darkness in Him. Because I was very aware of all my flaws and darkness, I could not see how He could love me. I remember fighting about this in prayer and continually questioning God until one day I had the revelation that the Light is knowing God. So to want to grow in Him and knowing that I am not where I should be and by submitting my life to Him, I was living in the light because God is light.

Today I know I am not where I should be but I have certainly come a long way. When I feel like I am the bees knees and too good for correction, I check myself because you see living in darkness is the pride of living without God. Thinking you can be better without Him. I thank God for this day, His love and light and pray you can find that and walk in it too. Trust me it is one of the best things!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What does it mean to live in the Light?

  1. Great post! I read from the Bible every morning as well.

  2. Spiritual World Traveler says:

    I offer a different perspective to your sentence “Today I know I am not where I should be…”: Today you are exactly where you should be! Why? Because you are where you are. 😉 Much love!

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    What a beautiful, honest, and open expression of your seeking heart which ever returns to seek after God’s deeper love. You have inspired me to rethink how I start my day with Jesus! Bless you, Nissi! 🙂

  4. Thank you for sharing your insights, struggles and journey of learning to live in the Light. Have you noticed that when you focus on light instead of darkness, that the shadows disappear? Turn your thoughts toward God and he will show you the way. Many blessings!

    • No probs Kathryn!

      I have noticed that the more you focus on God the less you notice the dark. The great thing is that having tunnel vision for God is the most empowering and enlightening way to live.

      Nissi x

  5. scroungelady says:

    We start our day with scripture reading and meditation.

Leave a Reply

