Prayer?!

Romans 12:12 ‘Be happy in your hope, stand your ground when you are in trouble and devote yourselves to prayer’

Good morning, afternoon, evening! I do not know what time you are reading this so hello to you whatever time you happen to stumble across this blog. I have thought about prayer for the past couple of days: what does it mean to pray? Why do it? Is prayer only for Christians? I believe that prayer is being in conversation with God. I sincerely believe that we can ask God to guide, instruct, help and bless us in many ways. When I have something on my mind be it good or bad, I like to ask God in and help me to either accept a blessing as I should to make the most of the opportunity or strengthen me through my troubles.

In the media we often see that people pray only when something goes wrong. In a cry of desperation they send prayers to ‘a creator’. It is interesting to see that in their lowest moments people just want to believe in anything/ something more and beyond their present distress. However to get the most of life wouldn’t it seem wise to invite the creator into your life . When I think of all that goes on in the world both good and evil, it is too much for my mind to comprehend. In order to have peace and a sense of purpose wouldn’t it be good to communicate with an all-knowing and all-seeing God. I am a Christian and so I believe that Jesus is the son of God and the only true Saviour. That belief has shed so much light and hope in my life that I cannot imagine a day going by without knowing that He holds my world in His hands; that there is a purpose, a very good reason for my being.

Prayer keeps me in touch with who He (God) is and who I am. People are so confused and everyone is searching for meaning, therefore going to another human to find peace and purpose sometimes helps but can never be enough.

Take a moment to think about what or who your hope is in today.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prayer?!

  1. isaiah43123 says:

    Excellent post! 9-11 saw this very thing; people flocking to places of worship in search of answers, but after a few weeks… Yes, prayer reminds us of who we are in relation to Him while keeping our feet on the ground.
    Keep the Faith!

  2. Imelda Evans says:

    Hi Nissi. Thanks for dropping by my blog today. I love meeting new people in the blogosphere! You’re right; we all need to keep praying, for in prayer there is strength and revelation.

  3. calanon says:

    Excellent post, in fact, it is like you posted it just for me! 🙂
    When God laid this on your heart, I am glad you put it up.

    Calanon

  4. scroungelady says:

    I agree. Having a relationship with God means daily communication, not just in times of trouble.

Leave a Reply

