Living for more.

The past few days I have had this amazing desire to do more than live for my body and for today. I am keen to enjoy life – yes, I want to live free, in love and passionately but I also want to please God and know that I am living walking in my best self. I believe that we find our best selves when we are not confined and restricted to people’s opinions and expectations of us. When we are able to be happy with ourselves and content in the knowledge that we are working towards being our better selves, there is a peace that accepts progression. Impatience and arrogance to want to jump certain stages of pain and growth can be dangerous. I remember wanting riches, prestige and power without putting in much effort. I was sloppy, lazy and arrogant in my ability – I thought things would simply happen because I am who I am. The glitz and glamour became the idol, that is what I was working towards and there was no substance behind the dream.

Of course things have now changed and I want more than the guise of wealth and success. I want to be fulfilled from the inside out and excel in an area that I am passionate about. I read the following verses yesterday morning and felt encouraged in the radical walk I have decided to take. Some things seem great and the “thing” to do but I know ultimately living to be pure, genuine and loving will reap the best reward.

Ephesians 5:2, 4-5 CEB

Live your life with love, following the example of Christ, who loved us and gave himself for us. He was a sacrificial offering that smelled sweet to God.

Obscene language, silly talk, or vulgar jokes aren’t acceptable for believers. Instead, there should be thanksgiving. Because you know for sure that persons who are sexually immoral, impure, or greedy—which happens when things become gods—those persons won’t inherit the kingdom of Christ and God

>>>Buy my book ‘Finding Me’ for only 1.97 HERE: http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=finding+me+nissi+mutale&x=0&y=0

Nissi x

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living for more.

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    This is beautiful, thank you, Nissi!

  2. I loved this it was wonderful, I have a lot of thinking to do..

Leave a Reply

