The Burden of Perfection

Getting things right is great. Getting things done well is even better. Perfection is absolutely phenomenal! However I used to be a perfectionist and it also stopped me from taking action for the fear that it would not be perfect. Sometimes we have dreams , visions and goals. We have plans and projects we want to start but because the first time may not result in a perfect product we put it off. We meet someone of the opposite sex but because they are not fit into the tick box fairytale criteria we created, we reject them. I few years ago I noticed that my strive for perfection paralysed my life and my growth by making me inanimate. I did not do anything unless I was absolutely sure that I would get perfection.

Now do not get me wrong, it is great to aim high. However aiming high and only settling for perfection are two very different things. The perfectionist believes that the only result other than perfection is failure, whereas the person who aims high understand that all things have room for improvement and any result always has something good that can be celebrated.

Writing my first book I learned that it was more important to take action as opposed to dreaming and lusting after perfection. I now believe that nothing is every truly perfect and one of the joys of life is being able to aim higher and do better. To think that there is no room for improvement is a dangerous place to be.

Buy my book ‘Finding Me’ for only £1.97 here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=finding+me+-+nissi+mutale&x=0&y=0

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Burden of Perfection

  1. isaiah43123 says:

    I understand this burden well. Thanks for sharing this timely post. You give me much to think about and act upon.
    Keep the Faith!

  2. Being a born perfectionist, you’re preaching to the choir here 😉 Good points, all.

  3. scroungelady says:

    Confidence comes from practice, so don’t wait until you feel “confident”. Go for it!

  4. Michelle says:

    It took me awhile, but I too, have discovered that there is no such thing as perfect! If there was there would be a series of books on “How to be perfect”, we would all have them on our bookshleves and we would all be perfect! Imagine the titles we could have “The perfect parent” “The perfect relationship” “The perfect employee” “The perfect women” “The perfect man”….you get my drift. We are all mean’t to be different and to learn our way through life….you are so right …aim high, be yourself , be true to your heart and life will all come together!

Leave a Reply

