Fight fear: taking steps of faith.

Today is a landmark day for me. On Wednesday 25th April 2012 Nissi Mutale launches her debut book ‘Finding Me’. The journey to get to this point has been amazing; exciting, scary, frustrating, tiring, confusing, fulfilling and everything in between. I have learned a lot about myself, other people and life in general. I have pushed myself to take a step of faith and as a result I am experiencing God in new ways. The best way I can describe the way I am feeling now is like I am walking on water. With my eyes fixed on God and the plan and purpose I feel He has for this book, I am able to find the energy and boldness to do things I would not otherwise do. The minute I look at my circumstances, inadequacies, how much I still have to learn in terms of writing and the number of other ‘aspiring authors’ there are out there, I begin to sink.

I have taken the time out to reflect and write this blog post because I do not want to forget how I felt at this point. I want to remember the mix of feelings and the thoughts I had at this time. Furthermore I want you who are reading this to be encouraged to take steps of faith. If you do not know God, get to know Him. If you do know Him, desire to get deeper. The main lesson I have learned along the way is that God is my only safe place. I do not want to trust in myself or other people – we will fail. God never fails. I challenge you to take your steps of faith and walk on water looking at Jesus.

Matthew 14: 29 – 33

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.“You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions, Purpose in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fight fear: taking steps of faith.

  1. Reblogged this on Selasie Bulmuo and commented:
    Great Words. Well done for the journey so far.

  2. I have reblogged this post. Thanks for the encouraging words and well done too.

  3. Michelle says:

    Enjoy! Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

