Childhood Dreams: Is there a time to let go?

Growing up I always dreamed of being a pop star. Nothing was more exciting to me than being the centre of attention and dressing up. I grew a little then decided I wanted to be an actress, then an MI5 agent, then a lawyer, then a forensic scientist, then a Doctor, then an urban missionary…then a writer. I have decided and am sticking to the writer identity. My book launch is next week and I enjoy blogging. However as you have seen I went through many career wants before I arrived at the place where I now feel joy and satisfaction with what I am doing and who I am.

The thought of my journey made me think about the changes I have been through and how I came to the decision that writing is what I was going to stick with. I have always loved reading and have been writing stories since I could write. However my joy of reading and writing made me think that I could not do it as a job because it did not feel like a job. I had the stereotype in mind that work had to feel depressing and drawn out so that I could tell people with a worn out look on my face that I had been to work.

However after 9 – 5t stints, other odd jobs and volunteering opportunities I was exposed to different ways of working and thinking. I now know that work does not have to feel labour some. To dread going to work does not have to be the norm. I often think about my dreams of being a popstar and wonder if I have short changed myself. Have I given up on my innocent dreams? Is the child in me dying? No!

Today I had the revelation that I did not decide to be a writer – I grew into one. The passion has always been there but it took seeing what I did not want to be in order to realise what I am. We often look back at childhood as being our purer selves. While this is true, childhood is also our baby self. We have a lot of growing to do and letting go of some of the ideals of childhood is not always bad.

Be warned: Adulthood does not however equate to being bitter!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Childhood Dreams: Is there a time to let go?

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    loved this! Iwas going to be a kuh-zillion things too…It’s great to dream…and to be open to surprises along the way… 🙂

  2. blackceezar says:

    Love it. It’s hard letting go sometimes and there are times dreams are people have to keep them going. Nice Post

  3. tadams4u says:

    I never would have pictured me having a blog. I hated to write. Never saw me as putting anything down that anyone might be interested in. Funny how things change. LOL Great post

  4. We live, we grow, we change. We are going to stick to writing though. Thanks for this post.

  5. Michelle says:

    I wantd to travel the world and be a travel consultant when I grew up……I did it for 10 years and really enjoyed it. I also dream’t of living on land and moving to the country…we only have an acre but I adore country life, we have lived here for 16 years now. Then I wanted to be a mum….and now have a 14 and 17 year old. I work to pay bills, interact with others and I enjoy my job….for me job satisfaction comes from doing a good job.
    Dreams change and grow….as do we…..I love and acccept change and can’t wait to see where my dreams and journey will take me in the next chapter……………

  6. Still I dream about my future … and happily so.

Leave a Reply

