What makes a good day?

I have been struck down by a disgusting bug that is giving me chest pains, hot sweats and banging headaches. I am not usually ill so when I felt the headaches coming on, I knew something was wrong.My fears were confirmed yesterday as I lay shivering, sweating and feeling sorry for myself all at once….. [Que you: Awwww]

Pity party aside, one thing good about being ill is that you have to slow down. This time of slow is great for taking a step back and conditioning yourself not to think about anything serious. Why is it important to have down time? Downtime is important because you are giving your mind and body time for rest and repair. While it may seem like an inconvenience to have to adjust your speed from 110 mph to 2 mph – you are doing your body a favour.

Did you know that rest and repair are key elements to living a healthy balanced life? Well they are. I know that we have been conditioned to work hard and to keep going; any signs of slowing down or opting out of the high powered, high paying job because it will cause stress, is perceived as weakness. What people perceive as being weak is open to interpretation and you should not allow people to bully you into trumping down a path that will exhaust and drain the life out of you.

That said I was thinking about my day in bed and wondered if I would consider it a good day? Because I was bed bound did I automatically have a bad day? I came to the conclusion that I  did not. A good day for me is being productive. Rest and play are productive because they rejuvenate my body to help me fight longer and harder in life. Equally planning and hard work to work towards SMART goals make my day productive because I am bringing myself closer to a target.

Anyway these are just some thoughts I had while I nursed my aches and pains.

Have a good day!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What makes a good day?

  1. isaiah43123 says:

    Yes, Nissi, any day where God is working for our best is a good day. (Romans 8:28)
    Keep the Faith!

Leave a Reply

