True Confidence?

I struggled to come up with the title above. Everything within me wanted to approach the topic of self esteem from the negative angle of insecurity. However after much thought and coming to the conclusion that I would probably roll out the topic ‘Sense of Self’ over a couple of blog posts, I decided to start on a high.

So what is confidence? Is it speaking loudly and getting the attention of everyone in the room? Is it being able to wear absolutely anything and think you look good? Is it being able to take other people’s husbands or boyfriends? Is it being able to go to the cinema alone and not be phased by the empty seat beside you? Is it having Money, Power and Sex? All of the questions I have asked could be seen as depicting somebody who has an element of confidence/ audacity/ bravado, but none of them accurately describe a truly confident person. There are of course many different ways that someone who is confident can behave. Growing up I have always had more of an extrovert personality. I never struggled to speak my mind, talk loudly, mingle with people and generally make people aware I was in the room. Sometimes it was a negative thing, other times it was positive. However I cannot say that my whole life I have been confident. The difference between my confident self and my insecure self was my thinking. I believe that every action has a thought behind it and if the thought is not right, despite the action seeming ok – we deceive ourselves. Similarly if we simply ‘act’ confident but do not love, understand and accept ourselves our behaviour is simply an act. True confidence comes from having an inner love and patience with who we are. It is not dependent on people approval. To put it another way you cannot have ill and poisoned roots but expect a beautiful flower or strong tree to blossom.

Now I am a Christian and I have decided to root my life in God. I believe that God is the only pure, true, unchanging and loving anchor that we will ever have in life. I believe that the only way to really have life is to be rooted in God. I also believe that the only way to achieve everlasting confidence is to be rooted in God. The way the world works now, it would seem that there are loads of other ways to gain approval, appear confident and gain the respect of people. Money, sex and power seem to do the trick most of the time. However I have also noticed that these things have a sell by date. I have too much to live for to allow my confidence to expire.

Think about it. In my book Finding Me I explore confidence. Check out the trailer and get your copy on amazon now:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxrJguBD8gs

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to True Confidence?

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    You write with much wisdom, Nissi. An excellent article! And God bless the book and all that you do for Him! I love how God calls us “MORE” than conquerors…Romans 8

    Hey! He’s talking about…YOU!… 🙂

  2. Planning Editor says:

    Thanks Nissi for your thoughts about true confidence – it has been on my mind lately and good to be reminded about the confidence that comes from knowing God. I had joked with someone recently saying where can I buy some confidence, but am reminded that it is freely available to those willing to trust God and his purpose for their lives.

  3. Michelle says:

    Anything that is true must be honest and from the heart…..I agree Nissi true confidence is a deep, honest and from our core. Anything that is fake can not last and can not be sustained long term. Always enjoy reading your posts…thanks!

Leave a Reply

