On Seth Godin’s ‘Extending the Narrative’.

 I opened my mailbox this morning to find my regular subscription to Seth Godin’s blog (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2012/03/extending-the-narrative.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+typepad%2Fsethsmainblog+%28Seth%27s+Blog%29&utm_content=Yahoo%21+Mail ). It is marketing and business blog but the insights are good and never fail to get me thinking. The post today caught my attention because today he was talking about narrative. Now for those of you who are regular readers, you will know that I am story obsessed. No day goes by without me telling a story, re – evaluating a story or being someone else’s story. Anyway story obsession aside, I was struck by Seth’s acknowledgement of the way stories impact our lives. Often if we want to change, we have to change the stories (narratives) we tell ourselves and others. However some people get stuck in ruts and are miserable because they are too scared, lazy or passive to change. Seth puts it this way:

“The truth is…what you’ve been doing is going to get you what you’ve been getting. If the narrative is getting in the way, if the archetypes you’ve been modeling and the worldview you’ve been nursing no longer match the culture, the economy or your goals, something’s got to give.”

The fact of the matter is if you desire change you have to change. Lasting change starts in the mind. If you act brainlessly or just follow trends it is hard to keep up with what you are doing. If you do keep up with the acts, the satisfaction lags or is non existent.

Take me, I have embarked on a journey as a writer. I believe that I am a writer and when people ask me who I am, I say I am a writer. Yes I have a day job and no I do not particularly enjoy my day job but it is something I am doing for the moment while I develop as a writer. Notice how I am still saying I am a writer. Since I changed my narrative and the way I see myself, I have found my actions change and I make more headway in my passions, I enjoy life a whole lot more and I am satisfied.

The stories you tell yourself are often who we are. Shocking really but it is what it is. If you don’t like it…change the script.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Seth Godin’s ‘Extending the Narrative’.

  1. Very nice post. I like that you say you are a writer. You ARE if you write. It doesn’t get any simpler than that. Nice post. Thank you.

  2. scroungelady says:

    Good point Nissi. Our brain chatters away continuously. We must be aware we’re being told stories, and go on despite the chatter in our heads.

  3. Brianna says:

    Very encouraging post, thank you! This is definitely something I need to work on. I’m always worried about how to label myself. Saying I’m an entrepreneur or something when I… haven’t… actually… done anything, feels a little weird. But I can totally see how getting in the mindset of an entrepreneur will just encourage me to become one!

Leave a Reply

