The Gift of Change: Who are you really?

 

Marianne Williamson in ‘The Gift of Change’ makes the point that as people in a society largely governed by fear and falsehood, we suffer from an “authorship problem”. Williamson goes on to say that “failing to recognise our divine source, we express ourselves as creations of the world rather than creations of the spirit”. I read the lines above and quickly remembered my teen years. I spent some time struggling to be like everyone else; wanting so bad to fit in. I soon got tired of trying to fit into everyone’s mould so I went off on the other extreme; fighting against everyone’s opinions of me (even the good ones). This rebellion was equally as bad because even when people recognized certain gifts and talents within me, I wanted to show them that they were wrong and could not define me. Many troubled years, mistakes, too many highs and lows in what I would call a generally very unstable period made me go back to the drawing board and really sit and think about what I wanted to achieve.

While it did not take long for me to come to the conclusion that I did not want to be governed by other people’s opinions of me, putting the theory into practise was not so easy. You see the “authorship problem” was at the heart of my struggle and it took me several years to fully understand. I have found that in the moments I am comfortable with the person God has made me, I am able to achieve a lot more than I ever could have done by second guessing myself. The confidence I have found in God has given me the passion, perseverance, love and faith to leap and jump with full force into life, knowing that God is with me so it is impossible for me to fail. The only scary thing is that usually I have to take what other people would call crazy risks e.g. leaving the comfort of a stable job.

However the challenges, excitement and resultant miracles never fail to amaze me. It is not easy but daily I have to choose between believing the restrictions the world puts upon me versus the limitless capabilities God has blessed me with.

You have the choice also.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Gift of Change: Who are you really?

  1. What a beautiful post. I am going to share this. Thank you.

  2. Candy S says:

    If we could only see ourselves as God seeing us. We are wondrously made in His eyes. It sounds like you are well on your way. We can do ALL things through Christ that strengthens us! Philippians 4:13

  3. kahyehm says:

    well written, thanks for posting this 🙂

  4. ddkaarre says:

    I love the “authorship problem” concept and enjoyed reading both your posts in relation to Marianne Williamson’s book. Good material for thinking about…I’ll need to read the book. Thanks for your insights!

  5. Don Miguel Ruiz, in his Four Agreements, also provides powerful tools to disentangle ourselves from others’ creations of us – perhaps ‘the world’s.’
    Love the post, love Marianne Williamson.
    Thanks Nissi.

Leave a Reply

