Finding Me

So…it is March! We are almost a quarter of the way through 2012…eeek! The past couple of months seems to have passed in a flash. I can account for the way I have spent my days and have certainly made progress with my main resolution: to release my debut book. You guys are my loyal readers and supporters so I thought it only right that you should be first informed about the way I am going about this book release. I would appreciate your feedback and guidance in terms of the plans I have made. I sincerely do trust your opinions and value your input. Without your feedback and conversation on this blog, I do not know how the project would have come together so quickly. Thank you!

So let me start by explaining the purpose and origin of the book. It is called ‘Finding Me’ and documents through poetry and blog posts, the decision I made to write down and analyse my experiences of love. I talk about romantic and familial love. I am intimate and vulnerable with my expression because the poems were not originally written to be shared. I simply wrote my thoughts and feelings the best way I could and hoped to make sense of this emotion that had driven people to extremes.

To my surprise I discovered that the way I experienced and viewed love affected me as a person. I saw that my bitterness and confusion led me to be a hard and guarded person, constantly having to prove myself to others. However as I grew I understood that people make mistakes and will hurt me. With this understanding I learned how to love purely, forgive, not hold grudges and truly love me by freeing myself from bitterness and trying to get people back for wrongs. I found me!

The launch date is: Wednesday 25th April 2012 7pm – 9pm. I have planned for the night to be an evening of poetry, theatre and live music. The theme of the night is pure love and so all the productions are engineered to encourage people to review their definitions of love. It will be an interesting evening to say the least.

The only thing remaining is for me to finalise the book trailer.

Let me know your thoughts. What is your definition of love and how would you get people to experience it visually?

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Finding Me

  1. Best wishes on the release!

  2. Mubanga agness musonda says:

    I personaly think that love has no single defination because of hw broad it is. There hv been tyms wen i felt lyk i hd finaly found the real meanin of love or reached its depth in terms of family, friends and ‘special luvd ones’ then all de sudden it takes a diff turn or twist. In short love is visualy expressed by the li fins we do, bein able to forgive each otha ‘which is often vry hard todo’, hvin de courage to standup for what is right and humility to admit u wer wrong, being patient and kind and being able to bring ot the best in some1 and lastly evry1 deserves tobe loved!

  3. Whoah – define love??!! Make a visual representation of it??!! Perhaps I’ve lived too long and seen too much and loved too many to possibly wrap my mind around it all.

    Good luck with it, and many blessings!

  4. kahyehm says:

    good luck! its all about believing you can do it! go! go! go! if the poems came from your heart… there will be nothing wrong with it… and no one can change it (except when your editor and yourself agreed to :p)… its yours… own it! 🙂

  5. Michael says:

    Nissi, congratulations on completing the book!

  6. Yevette says:

    Congratulations on your book release and on finding you! It really is a journey.

  7. Michelle says:

    All the best…you have worked hard and deserve success…..I am sure you would find the perfect way to showcase your works. Keep being yourself and it will all come together.

  8. beninbrown says:

    Hi Nissi…Right you are. This year will be over before we know it and if we aren’t careful so too will our 2012 resolutions.

    Glad to see someone focusing on the stuff that really matters b/c if you don’t have love everything else that comes can take on the form of emptiness.

    Appreciate the reminder. Good luck with ur book too!

Leave a Reply

