The bigger picture: the importance of perspective

Sorry it has taken me a couple of days to reply to your comments. This week has been a bit manic so I hope you will forgive and bear with me. In line with the busy week there has been trickles of bad news and spots of good news but for some reason the bad news seems to stick. Why is it when we hear something bad or are told some not so pleasant news, (even if we get brilliant news on the same day), it is the bad news that we will turn over and over in our heads? Hmmm. Strange thing is I am not a pessimist or glass is half empty person so when I am plagued by negative thoughts and overwhelmingly negative emotions, I have to take step back.

You see I am a dreamer, a romantic, a love poet. Everything about life has to sing, radiate and glow. I hate dull environments, people and circumstances. That is not to say that I do not encounter dull environments, people or circumstances – no! Instead I choose to look at things in ways that accentuate the beauty. Let’s face it, life is depressing enough without our minds magnifying the horrific nature of people and politics. Our mind is the only thing we have complete control over and once we learn to master that, a significant part of the living battle is already won.

In short: keep your eye on the prize and do not allow yourself to be demoralized (ooo that rhymes). Often one situation or thing going wrong, yes may change our life forever but there is always another way to make things work. It might take some re – grouping and going back to the drawing board but you can do it.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The bigger picture: the importance of perspective

  1. it’s like you manage to express the EXACT things i’m thinking and/or words i’m needing to hear. thank you

  2. Inspiring post. Even through the busy, dull, difficult times, if we learn and grow, it’s all good!

  3. nelle says:

    I like being an active voice, particularly at a time when this nation teeters between a rather selfish ideology and one that takes everyone forward. Despite it all, like you, I’m an unabashed optimist.

  4. I wonder the same thing… Why does the bad affect us more than the good? You are right, the mind is the only thing we have complete control over – contrary to popular belief. Not many of us have figured that out. It’s simple, but not easy… I always say, if you don’t control your mind, your mind will control you!

  5. Well said and inspiring! 🙂

  6. Thanks Nissi, I really needed this, this morning….

  7. isaiah43123 says:

    “Why is it when we hear something bad or are told some not so pleasant news, (even if we get brilliant news on the same day), it is the bad news that we will turn over and over in our heads?”

    Could it be, focusing on the negative brings the spotlight back to ourselves instead of the One who created us?

  8. Susan Michaels says:

    Amen to BIG picture thinking! You shine! 🙂

  9. Mubanga agness musonda says:

    Thnx!

  10. In my experience both as a person as well as a counselor over the years, I’ve noticed that we all experience the dark night of the soul, from time to time. It’s necessary, I think, for balance. And to appreciate the good, for if it were always so, we’d likely take it for granted. I think the trick is to keep on going, and that is the attitude part – keep looking for redemption – the seed inside the rotten fruit always possesses the most beautiful potential – the rotting or breaking down provides the seed with its own little compost bin of nourishment 😉

  11. markella says:

    Reflecting on the negative is healthy, but to dwell and let it over-turn our lives is another thing entirely. I think we need to embrace the wonderful things that come into our lives and use them as little gifts…we often forget how many we are really given. Great Post…Great Insight…Great Thoughts. Will come back to read more of you. 🙂

    • Markella I love the way you put it, ’embrace the wonderful things that come into our lives and use them as little gifts”. The words have set me on a whole new thought trail. Thank you for your insight.

Leave a Reply

