One Step at a Time…

It’s February now and the glittering ambition of January may not be so glittery anymore. Alternatively maybe you are one of those super happy human beings who never gets tired and always finds the silver lining and never needs encouragement. Good for you! Now for the rest of us, who like me do find that every so often the passion seems to mysteriously expire within the blink of an eye, I was thinking about what keeps me going. I was at Church on Sunday and heard a mega encouraging message about how we need to take steps by faith. The analogy given was that when we get in a car at night we can only see as far as the headlights go. We cannot see our end destination which may be a 10, 15, 60 minute journey away. In some cases it may be significantly more. The fact of the matter is that we cannot see our end destination yet we switch on our engines and drive; carefully going along the road and taking each mile as and when it is lit up.

 Life is a bit like a road (cliché but true). Often we start something not entirely sure of the outcome, it may be a course, change of location, relationship, new job – whatever it is we start only seeing as far as the second we are living because no – one knows what the future holds. Not even the very near future. Our lives can change for better or worse in a flip second. Nonetheless we live with the faith that we will make it through the day.

Sometimes it can take all the energy we have to continue down a path we have started. It may be a tough job, hard relationship, boring school course but if we believe that we are in the situation for a reason and we are investing our time for a bigger and better return, it is good to stick with it.

Life is best lived one step at a time, making plans for a better future, moving towards that while trusting God to keep us safe, healthy, strong and at peace.

Judges 6:14 “Go with the strength you have”.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One Step at a Time…

  1. Absolutely right on! Thanks for this, Nissi…I have a friend who I’ll share this with who will find your article very timely as she’s changing career course, etc… Blessings, Susan

  2. John says:

    Simply put ~ positively positive!

  3. Wonderful thoughts Nissi!

  4. This is exactly what I needed to wake up to today. I am forwarding this to my husband to read. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us Nissi.
    Blessings for a beautiful day!
    Lisa

  5. isaiah43123 says:

    “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” Martin Luther King Jr.

  6. the more people know about holding on, and progressing, the better the world would be..

  7. nelle says:

    As always, so wise!

  8. 1stjoeyanna says:

    Very well written. I’m with you, and needing faith. That’s what keeps me positive! When I get angry, or go into a slump, It’s my faith and loved ones that get me back on the right path!

  9. scrunchylips says:

    PREACH IT!
    You just lifted my spirits!
    Blessings Sister!!!

  10. coachchinh says:

    I like the way you put this. Sometimes it’s sort of overwhelming to imagine how far away the destination is or how long the journey is. What’s easier is just to focus on what the next step is. Before you know it, your momentum has been restored and it seems so easy to keep on going. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

