What is fear anyway??

Today was one of those strange days when I felt a bit scared of everything. I have been working hard this week and have some things to celebrate: shooting my book trailor, winning 3 blog awards, sending my debut book for printing…but now the extent of how much I have done is a bit overwhelming. I sit and think about what I have achieved and how much I still have left to do and it is an interesting thought. I found myself having to tell myself that fear is: False Evidence Appearing Real and trying to calm myself down and see things in their true perspective. I kept reminding myself that I was tired and my nerves were on end so it was natural for me to feel a bit defeated. I made it a must to  go home after work and sleep.

I am writing this blog after my nap and feel a lot stronger, less overwhelmed and a little bold. I am writing this post and planning my next steps, next mode of attack.

 Fear only has the power we give it.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What is fear anyway??

  1. randomramsey says:

    I enjoyed this. It’s so true. Fear has to be tamed…I have to tame and rebuke mine every…single…day…very well written

  2. isaiah43123 says:

    Merriam-Webster gives this list of synonyms for fear: alarm (also alarum), anxiety, dread, fearfulness, fright, horror, panic, scare, terror, trepidation. Yet, the Psalms tell us not to fear because God is our light and salvation, our shield and protector. the source of courage and strength (Psalm 27).

    You might like Julie Cosgrove’s acronym for fear at http://www.thechristianwoman.com/blog/2012/01/f-e-a-r.html

    Keep the Faith!

  3. nelle says:

    You bet it does, and you have it within you to control and stay strong. I love how you think this through and work at it, excellent.

  4. soulbird11 says:

    Thanks for liking my latest poetry blog post “I Stand”.

    I love your definition of fear. I need to keep that in mind as I am in the process of writing my first novel. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    http://akasoulbird.wordpress.com/publications/

  5. Michelle says:

    I beleive that we have “positive/healthy fear” and “keep yourself safe” fear…………………
    Fear can be your intuition teling you that something is not right.e.g you feel uneasy or unsafe.
    Fear can be excitement……e.g about to to do a speech or go for a new job or an adrenaline rush
    Fear can be a new lesson to learn….the unknown can bring pangs of fear but once challenged can bring a massive sense of pride.
    So once we recognise that it is a positive fear and that we shall grow from pushing through….we can forge ahead.

  6. mariamccloskeyblogspot says:

    It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who feels this way.. I really appreciate you sharing this emotion as you have given me a new perspective of fear. Thank you for sharing

  7. scroungelady says:

    I liked your thoughts on fear. To me it is an expression of anxiety over something yet to happen.

  8. False Evidence Appearing Real! looove it. I occasionally have those days of being skittish and afraid, and I’ve never known others had them, too. Love your blog! And thanks for visiting mine.

    x
    a

    • Donna Vierra says:

      My understanding precisely!
      False
      Evidence
      Appearing
      Real

      Fear renders us helpless and paralyzed. I’ve seen fear terrorize people in their emotions, marriages, jobs, all other relationships. Fear is the oppoosite of Faith and we know that without faith it IS impossible to please God. Since God is considerably smarter and wiser than we can ever hope to be, why not allow Him to reveal Himself in us and cleanse us of this devastor.

      God Bless

      DCV

  9. There is always, always, always more to do… I think it has something to do with being a woman…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  10. rerodan says:

    I like this…..False Evidence Appearing Real
    Fear only has the power we give it mmmmm

  11. Love Blessings ~ Thank you for beautiful sharing.
    Aurora

Leave a Reply

