Don’t chase the wind: What is the aim?

In my last post I wrote on the subject ‘success vs significance’. Since then I have been re-evaluating, planning and preparing for the projects I have in the pipeline for this year. However I found that even with the goal of being significant and successful in my mind, I had to keep reminding myself of my grounding principles, morals and desired outcomes beyond the two SS’s. It seems like there are so many thoughts and dreams to juggle all at once if I am to live a full and purpose filled life. For some that may seem daunting but for me it is such an exciting challenge. I for one could not stand waking up just to exist everyday.

So…what are your specific aims for this year: do you want to invest in young people’s lives by joining a mentoring scheme? Write a book? Lose weight? I know it might seem like a lot of motivational jargon but this ‘stuff’ is real and helps you to set specific, measurable targets that you can look back and evaluate yourself on next year. To simply want to be successful and significant is not enough – it is too vague and will keep you running in circles and dashing after every seemingly ‘good’ opportunity.

There is one song in particular that keeps me inspired at the moment. It is the remix of Drake’s ‘Headlines’ by the absolutely inspiring and conscious musician Chuka Royalty. Listen and dream big!

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Don’t chase the wind: What is the aim?

  1. adalamar says:

    Great post! I know that I do better when I makes lists of what I want to accomplish. And I also do a goal board every year so that I always keep my goals in muind and will work towards them…even when they are not on the fron t burner.

  2. Susan Michaels says:

    Right on! Gotta run and get this to a friend who will totally luv this! Focus. Focus. Focus! (cool video!)

  3. willofheart says:

    If I am aiming something I am making a list, an evaluation, and I am very eager to accomplish it, I am posting it near my bed so that when I wake up it reminds me that I need to keep going to achieved it and I jot down all the improvements and developments, that way it helps me to be more inspire in achieving it… this is brilliant post and thank you for sharing the song… 🙂

  4. scroungelady says:

    Write it down and verbalize it. Saying it makes it happen!

  5. gethappy says:

    Great read. I guess to write is to store in our long term mermory

  6. bnjewell says:

    Great post. The first step in my success stories has always been to seek God and find out what He wants to see me doing, and how He wants me to do it.God showed me that I needed discipline in my life three years ago, and by the end of the year, I lost 50 pounds. Then in 2010, he showed me that I needed to learn to master my finances. I threw myself into it, got my own house in order, and than began teaching others (at http://www.godmoneyme.com).

    Whenever I’ve listened to God’s voice, He has brought me into much more success than what I could have accomplished alone.

Leave a Reply

