Letting go: Sometimes your best is good enough.

This morning I woke up (Thank God) and as I ran my bath water and brushed my teeth, started thinking about the day. Gradually thoughts drifted to my day at work, my family, friends and life in general. This week has been a hard week for me emotionally. I then started thinking about anything I could do better. I contemplated trying different techniques to try and force what I want out of people and then had  the following revelation: what I have done already is good enough. I have tried my best, my best was good enough but the outcome I wanted was just not meant to be. Wow.

This revelation I know is going to change my life and probably yours if you can fully grasp it.

Often I spend a lot of time reflecting, planning, organising, strategising just to see what I had envisioned fall to pieces. I learn from the situation and what I can do differently should a similar situation arise in the future, I do differently. However what about those times I have done all I can do in my power and it still goes wrong. Does it mean I wasn’t good enough? Does it mean I misread something along the way? No it does not. Do not get me wrong, most times there is room for change, improvement, lesson learning. But sometimes we have to accept that the alternative outcome (the unanticipated one) might have been the one we needed. In other words your best can be good enough but the outcome you wanted was not God’s plan or just not meant to be.

For example sometimes things go wrong in our family, love relationships and friendships and we can get caught up in a vicious circle of trying to mould and manipulate a person into a different person so that they can get out of their lives what we envisioned. Think: that girlfriend/ boyfriend you manipulate to try and make stay/ that sibling who always caused trouble for the family. There are some things that are simply beyond our control.

Put simply – sometimes your best is good enough.

I cannot give you one blanket rule to know when. You have to spend time getting to know God, yourself and others and in the weirdest of ways, you will just know.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Letting go: Sometimes your best is good enough.

  1. Michelle says:

    How true Nissi, your words make me think of one of my favourite poems
    The Serenity Poem:
    “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    Courage to change the things I can,
    And wisdom to know the difference”. by Reinhold Niehbur
    Sometimes easier said than done???

  2. isaiah43123 says:

    “In other words your best can be good enough but the outcome you wanted was not God’s plan…” Trusting His plan to be the best is the important thing here and we must be content with it. We might hold the pieces to life’s puzzle, but He holds the boxtop.

  3. April says:

    Reminded me of the Serenity Prayer. Also, quit making life harder than it really is! Place each day in God’s hands and allow it to unfold His way and all goes better!

  4. Jane Sadek says:

    Your best IS enough. Everyone cannot win in every situation. The fact is, you learn more getting up from a fall than you ever do soaring in the sky.

  5. Well said! You know, very wise. We all do this, caught in a spinning wheel we feel it is us. But, shock.. what if it wasn’t us? What if, crazy as it sounds, that we really try, and no matter what, it was not meant to be… A lesson we all need. lol.

  6. nelle says:

    Yes. We only have the power to change ourselves.

  7. Susan Michaels says:

    Love this! Yes, your ‘BEST’ is good enough. And as someone told me once…do it ALL for Jesus! Great words of wisdom, Nissi! Thank U! Blessed weekend! 🙂

  8. great post! this really resonated with me and it’s nice to know that i am not alone in my struggles…

    -p

  9. azphoenix says:

    Love it. I’m the kind of person who is always stressing and thinking that I am not doing enough when I’ve put my all into it. This puts it all into perspective. I’ve nominated you for the versatile blogger award. Hope you accept the nomination! http://azphoenix.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/versatile-blogger-award-thank-you/

  10. MetalMantis says:

    Poignant words and a truly enlightening account. Great writing 🙂 *feels good*

  11. Nissi, I’ve just shared your blog in my latest post. I certainly enjoy sharing your perspectives 😉

  12. blissphil says:

    i needed to hear this today … thank you 🙂

    love xx

  13. Boyd says:

    You ‘hit the nail on the head’ with this post. Keep up the good work!

  14. Kasha says:

    I needed to read this today.

    Thank you for visiting my blog so I could find you…

  15. Something you thought was for you may be for someone else and something you thought was for someone else may be for you. Allways be listening so you don’t miss the revelation.

  16. artimagica says:

    Oh man, when it comes to family this is dead on. I just had an instance of that last week. Sometimes you just have to let it go. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I would “like” this, but i’m having trouble figuring that out on this new Ipad!

  17. Love it Nissi. If it’s going to be, it’s up to me!

  18. What a beautiful sentiment, and one that I hope more people will take to heart. When you think about it, how could you possibly do any better than your best?

    Obviously, the more you practice or grow, the better you get, but for the right here and now, your best truly is the best that you can do — and it’s not so much settling on that thought as embracing it.

    Thank you for your recent visit to my blog and Liking Valentine’s Day.

  19. This was an awesome post! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  20. Shonnie says:

    Fantastic post Nissi! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking it so I could stumble upon you! You are a blessing …. just in case you didn’t know. 🙂

  21. CatenaTravel says:

    Very true and intuitive!!

  22. Hopeannfaith says:

    Awesome post!
    Just today, as I contemplated the possiblity (or fearful thought) that my job might change or not be fear tried to take hold; just then (and it must have been the Holy Spirit) I realized that no matter how I felt (fearful, dread of the unknown) that it would be what God had planned. That while I was uncertain and worrisome about the thought, it would work out and God would have a door opened for me to enter into His will.
    Your visit and “like” of my recent photo prompt led me to the confirmation of what God revealed to me today. My best is good enough and if this situation changes then I am done with what God wanted me to do.
    I love that God used you and your awesome post to reinforce what He gave me today!
    Blessings to you and thanks for taking the time to drop by my blog!
    Andrea @ A.Hutchinson Photography and HOPEannFAITH on wordpress!

  23. Very good post! It reminds me of a section of “The Four Agreements” which states:
    “Everything is alive and changing all the time, so your best will sometimes be high quality, and other times it will not be as good. No more and no less than your best. If you always do your best there is no way you can judge yourself. Your best does not overdo, because you deplete your body and go against yourself. If you take action because you have to, then you cannot do your best. Action is about living fully. Inaction is the way that we deny life. Live your life, and always do your best.”

  24. morelife4me says:

    “sometimes my best is good enough.” ahhh, i needed that reminder today. thanks! and i’m adding it to my list of inspiration. i’m sure i’ll need that reminder often 🙂

  25. i can’t even describe how badly i needed to read this right now at this exact moment. i love when things like that happen…i struggle with my beliefs about things that are bigger than us, but this is one of those things that makes me believe there is a force that brought this into my life exactly when i needed it. thank you.

  26. frank4012 says:

    Nissi,

    Thank you for the look and like on my blog. I am glad you pressed the Like button
    because now I am aware of your blog and I really enjoyed this post. Your thought
    process and your writing style are wonderful! I’ll be back.

    Frank
    Prov. 3:5,6; Acts 4:12

  27. I saw you liked one of my posts so I came over to say thank you and got the message I needed today. It’s nothing I didn’t know already just something I struggle with and need a reminder. I also love the Serenity Prayer; its seen me through some tough times.

    Nice to meet you, I’ll be back. 🙂
    Carrie

  28. Thanks for liking my blog! I really enjoy the inspiration that yours give me. Keep it up. God Bless You!!!

  29. I simply wanted to appreciate you once again. I do not know what I would have followed in the absence of those ideas provided by you concerning such a subject. It had become a real terrifying concern in my circumstances, but coming across a well-written manner you solved it forced me to weep over contentment. Now i am happy for this advice and trust you find out what a great job that you are undertaking educating the rest via a blog. I know that you have never met all of us.

    • Thank you so much Kelly. It is great to hear how others are encouraged by my blog. Often I write to encourage myself and get things straight in my own head so its good to know it helps you too.

      Nissi x

Leave a Reply

