How big is your faith?

Morning!

I hope you had a lovely Christmas! I certainly did…It seems to have been a lot quieter this year! Christmas day aside, I find it is important to remember why we celebrate the birth of baby Jesus and how we let His life impact ours. I was reading my Bible this morning and came across a verse that really encouraged me through my teens and tough times in general:

Matthew 17:20 NIV

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

I read the verse and immediately began thinking about how much I believe I can do. Yes I believe in God and miracles but I started to question how much I live that faith. How do I know I have the faith if I have never been in a sitation that required a supernatural faith to get me through?

Now there are some situations and seasons I have been in where I know that of my own strength I would have given up. However I don’t want to only live by faith sometimes, I want everyday to be a faith day…So what does that mean? I never want to be too scared to act when I know I am right. I want to pursue my dreams and passions with a boldness that inspires others. I want to live such a wise and proactive life that even if I died unexpectedly, I lived to my full potential.

Increasingly faith is being used as just a word. People say they have faith but their actions are largely driven by fear. I am not saying we should never be scared. No. Instead I believe that we should let our faith overcome our fear. Emotions are fickle. We need to develop a faith and resolve that drives us when we cannot drive ourselves. I find my resolve in God.

Lets not let 2012 be another year of time being stolen by fear.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How big is your faith?

  1. nelle says:

    Fear based motivation doesn’t appeal to me. Positive outlook, be it within faith or otherwise, does. What I believe provides a solid framework and helps me plough onward. It is nice to see you examine what matters to you and how it all helps you focus forward.

  2. Susan Michaels says:

    Right on, Nissi! This echoes the confidence I read about this morning in Colossians 2:19b: “We grow only by getting our nourishment and strength from God.” There are times when we can muster up a ton of positivity on our own, but eventually we all can get weary. I like how you point out that we need not rely on emotions…but on God…Great focus for 2012!

  3. ginnyjaques says:

    Good encouragement, Nissi. Thanks.

  4. Faith vs fear … that’s an excellent point of comparison. Really got me thinking. Cheers!

  5. Estelle says:

    2012, it will be a difficult year, I’m afraid. So, let’s leave everything behind and just keep the faith.

  6. You are so right on point. Saying we have faith and actually working through faith are not the same thing. It even feels different inside. That’ what I love about faith. It feels different.

  7. ginnyjaques says:

    I agree, and your post is so challenging and encouraging. I’ve just read a book called Fresh Power, by Jim Cymbala, and I’ve been reminded again that we can do nothing of significance (eternal good) in our own strength. I want to go into, and through, the coming year being filled with God’s Holy Spirit. A glorious way to go through a year! The only way to do it in victory!

  8. My pastor did a whole sermon series on “fearless” living. Thanks for the reminder that we should all strive to live fearlessly in our faith.

    And thank you for stopping by my blog and for the “like.”

Leave a Reply

