Love and have fun even in winter.

It is so crazy cold at the moment. I live in East London and I know compared to some parts of the country and the world, the weather here is not that bad but for me here and now…wow! Anyway instead of allowing myself to wallow and resent the weather I thought it would be a great idea to share some of the good things about winter. Every season has its pluses and negatives. I happen to love the summer months and believe that because I am a Sub – Saharan baby, it is kinda God ordained for me to love warmer weather (my family thinks my theory is a load of rubbish).

 So anyway it is winter, I knew this weather was coming and want to try as much as possible to embrace the icy winds, shorter days, and numbing fingers. Here’s my top 5 list of things to do when it is cold. Please feel free to drop any of your ideas below!

 1. Make a beautiful home cooked, hearty meal like meat, spicy rice, potato salad and mixed veg and curl up on the couch with my hot water bottle and watch a movie

 2. Run a bubble bath with candles and lay there for ages!!!

 3. Buy my fav sweets, snacks, and other nutrition less food and watch a movie with my younger sis and paint my nails.

4. Lay under my duvet and listen to the rain.

5. Bake biscuits, cakes, pies and watch tv with my fam while we eat the feast with some good tea or hot chocolate.

Note: All of the above require the radiators on and the room toasty warm!!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Love and have fun even in winter.

  1. Stay warm! I have my air conditioning set pretty high in the summer because I love the heat; therefore, I feel justified in overpaying for decently warm home temperatures in the winter. 🙂

    …and merry Christmas!

    /b

  2. Estelle says:

    I’ve missed rainy days. For some reason both Nov. and Dec. where shiny here. I don’t get it, very weird. Anyway, love your ideas and hope winter makes a stop at my place.
    Hot chocolate by the fire is my thing.

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    right on! 🙂

  4. And also requires food, in most cases, right? It all sounds good to me. Here in rainy Vancouver, where it’s dark in the winter from 9:00 to 4:00, I also require a lot of bright light in the winter. I turn on lights all over the house, and love the colored lights of Christmas.

    I’m a California girl originally, by the way, and I agree with your theory.

  5. Sarah Marie says:

    Yep, I agree. I’m a Canadian so I’m used to cold winters and short, dark days. I think anything revolving around making food, eating food, smelling food helps.

  6. nelle says:

    Sounds like a plan!

  7. I love your list and the coziness of them all! Try to enjoy! 🙂

  8. I love cooking and baking when it’s cold. So comforting and warm.

  9. willofheart says:

    I love the idea of how are you going to spend this season…. Enjoy… 🙂

  10. Michelle says:

    Your right Nissi, for those of us that are more Solar powered winter can be a challenge. Finding things to be grateful for makes a chilly winter more cosy. Luckily for me I am from Australia so it is summer right now……so I will send you all warm thoughts.

  11. nicole says:

    warm up with fabulous winter fashion! 🙂
    i’ve absolutely been in love with winter since viewing and composing a 1996 analysis of ‘dr. zhivago.’
    such beautiful pieces of fashion were featured in that film! my gosh. i must view that film again soon to reignite the inspiration and passion!
    love love love love love winter! x

  12. silverlining09 says:

    nothing beats a hot cup of coffee (or green tea), staring at the window pane, looking outside and not caring what it really means – just simply thinking about the hot burning topics your life has encountered from the past year. 🙂 Have a blessed winter!

  13. melzzartt says:

    A bubble bath sounds really good, right now. Candles, too. I think snuggling with my dog is at the top of my list.

  14. Love your energy and your blog! Haven’t had time to really get around wordpress yet.. Will tackle in new year! Have an awesome holiday!

  15. Claire says:

    I like snow, I just am not keen on the cold. It says something when you have to cuddle up under a blanket in your own living room. I’m in the UK too, so I dread to think what it must be like other places!

  16. ethelthedean says:

    This is a really excellent list that I think I may borrow for mine own. 🙂

    Warm wishes from overcast and grey West Coast Canada!

  17. Karen says:

    All wonderful things to do. Also, bundle yourself up on one of those cold but sunny days and go outside and embrace it. The sky is bluer, the air smells fresher, and the sounds seem crisper.

Leave a Reply

