Merry Monday: The difference a little thanks makes.

It is Sunday evening and if like most of us you work a day job, it is very easy to start feeling a bit heavy and tired now. Nobody likes having to go to work but it is usually a necessary step to give us the financial means to work towards other projects and dreams we have for our lifetime. Each time I feel myself developing a bad attitude or dread about going to work, I remind myself how things could have been. I think about how I would live, or what lifestyle I would have without the money and funnily enough going to work does not seem so bad anymore!

So whether you are off to your dream or dread job tomorrow, bounce into work with a spring in your step and look past the negative thoughts and feelings.

I vow to wake up tomorrow and (even though it is a Monday), thank God for the day!

If you are looking for a job, the job search is a job in itself. You can still be thankful for the skills and abilities you have. I pray that God will open windows of opportunity and help you to see this era of your life as just an era, a season – you will get a job. Believing that you are capable and that even in the midst of an economic downturn, room will be made for your skills, you are likely to have a more positive outlook. This positivity is way more attractive to potential employers than your attitude of doom, gloom, nobody knows the trouble I have seen attitude.

It is corny but very necessary to make the most of life – have a good attitude.

Have a Merry Monday!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Merry Monday: The difference a little thanks makes.

  1. Hijab Savvy says:

    It’s so nice to read something positive regarding this issue!

  2. Hi Nissi,

    It’s so nice to meet you and I love this post. It is absolutely inspiring! Thanks, also for your visit and “like” today! I appreciate you stopping by and hope you’ll return again! Your “about” photo is gorgeous, too. I couldn’t leave without paying you that complement! I’m also going to follow you to see what other inspiring posts you produce! 🙂
    Lauren

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    right on! God bless your Monday…and your whole week ahead! 🙂

  4. dvdcsr says:

    Happy Holiday’s all. Love this post. I am one of those looking for employment. I tell all my friends who were laid off with me that they should be thankful everyday. It could be so much worse but the Lord is guiding us. I believe EVERYTHING happens for a reason.

    Thank you for visiting my site and the “Like”

  5. anshulrautela says:

    After reading your post, Monday seems better! 😉 So positive and energetic.

    Anshul

  6. i love your positive outlook and your enthusiasm!

  7. amira says:

    i take my work very seriously. that is i usuall do.
    but lately i have taken a u turn. don’t find work enjoyable anymore. it is more like a chore now
    guess i need some change.
    but yes it is very important that we take things positively otherwise we end up in a dark place 🙂

  8. Traci B says:

    Terrific post, Nissi. I’m job hunting – have been for almost two months now – and keeping a positive attitude has been paramount to my spiritual and mental wellbeing. Every time I start to feel down, I tell myself that God has the right job for me and it will be offered in His timing. My job at this point is to be faithful in applying and to do my best in the interviews.

  9. Beverley says:

    It’s so true, Nissi. Politeness and giving thanks are so easy to do and it’s amazing how few people do remmember these simple, precious things.

  10. You are beautiful. Your words are beautiful. I too love God and food and other such things. Thank you for this reminder to appreciate the small things, and the honour of having a day-to-day job. Blessings, Christina x

Leave a Reply

