Finding myself pt 4: Choosing to follow the star.

I LOVE Christmas because there is generally a better spirit around. Everyone is happy and feel good despite the cold weather, there are loads of winter warmer family movies on TV and things just feel better. This morning however I woke up all achy because yesterday was such a hectic day. I had work, had the first meeting for a gospel praise party I am organising for the New Year, had another practise for the praise team I sing with on Sundays and then went to get my hair done. All in all I left my house at 7.45am in the yesterday morning and was back home 1am this morning! So anyway the point is…I was tired.
When I am tired I tend to become a little groggy, faithless and just want to curl up in bed. I am sure you know the feeling! But I woke up and got ready for work and the rest of my day because there are certain things I know I need to achieve by the stroke of midnight. So… Nissi what point are you making? Today I want to talk about what keeps me going, why do I keep pushing forward, why don’t I just stay in bed all day and claim benefits from the state?
 I don’t because I believe that God is shaping me daily to achieve amazing things. I have that childlike faith that simply believes that God is working in my life and no matter how impossible the day, task or people seem God is ultimately in control. That does not mean that every day is easy and has a Chrismassy feel good spirit to it. No. Instead I have experienced and believe that even in my worst moments God is working for my good, that ultimately there will be a very, very good reason for what I am going through.
However it has taken a long time for me to get to this point. Living a life of faith is not easy, especially when human nature’s fight or flight kicks in and we either bolt or be bold. I have had to rewire myself to be bold and only bolt when that is the best and most wise decision.

Below I have included an extract from the Christmas story taken from Matthew 3: 10 – 12. I felt so encouraged reading this passage because it reminded me again of how God guides and protects us in a variety of ways: through dreams, our conscience, other people. I am taking some time out of my day to think about Christmas and what it signifies: a new lease of life even in the midst of danger, cold weather or anything else that can throw us into a foul mood.
“And the star they [the wise men] had seen when it rose went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. 10 When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. 11 On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. 12 And having been warned in a dream not to go back to Herod, they returned to their country by another route.

My star is God 🙂

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Finding myself pt 4: Choosing to follow the star.

  1. Well, Nissi, no wonder you “liked” my post, today–we chose the exact same references, although we took them in two different directions!
    This was really good. You have a fun voice.

  2. Very nice devotion and encouraging. I don’t usually think about Christmas until the day actually arrives. However for the first time in a long time, this year the celebration of Christmas has been everyday and one day just isn’t enough anymore. Thanks again, I really like your thinking.

  3. runitjojo says:

    That’s why I love Christmas time, especially Christmas hymms so much. Reminds me that despite all the doom and gloom that my mind creates for my little entertainment – the big picture is boundless with God’s love! Christmas time helps restore my faith in Jesus Christ.

  4. speaklife1 says:

    You are a great writer….thank you for sharing.
    Minister Glenda

  5. Alternativepoet says:

    Lovely post Nissi, glad you stopped by my place ~ AP 🙂

  6. Believing that God is working, and trusting He’s in control… yes! It makes all the difference. Thanks for this reminder.

  7. sumanlatik says:

    And I so totally agree! God is a greatest star in our lives. Thanks, too for dropping by my blog.

  8. spider42 says:

    Nice post, hope you keep your spirit and motivation going – all the best.
    Cheers.

  9. Susan Michaels says:

    Nissi, beautiful clear writing and faith and love messages straight from the heart. Thank you for finding me and Lightwriters at 5wise.wordpress.com, and I will add you to the blog roll and follow this site with delight! 🙂 Susan

  10. Debbie says:

    I love your faith and boldness! You inspire us to keep going. Thank you and God bless!

  11. What a nice Christmas post!

  12. willofheart says:

    this is very lovely post for X’mas, by the way I nominated u for versatile bloggers award so pls. check this out … http://willofheart.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/a-surprised-for-me-a-versatile-blogger-award/ …. cheers! 🙂

  13. Joanna says:

    ‘I believe that God is shaping me daily to achieve amazing things.’ Brilliant way to approach life and an encouragement for me today. Thank you for stopping by my blot.

Leave a Reply

