Life…the how did I get here moments?

Hiya! You guys have been great communicating with myself and each other talking about life, love and what we expect from it. So I thought I would open up a bit more and let you know why I started the blog, where I am in my life at the moment and how I got here.

A couple of my girls and I often fall into conversations about what we are doing with our lives, projects we are working on and the purpose of our individual lives in general.  It makes for interesting conversation and almost always falls to the subject of the mega fine, talented, God – fearing, kind but rough around the edges men we hope to spend our lives with *gushes*. However on the flip side I also know some ladies who are not concerned with any thoughts of the future and who simply think about the here and now.  They spend every single penny they have, live for the moment, get involved with people and things that they know they will soon regret and spend half of the year crying over some heartbreak that they could have prevented had they taken the time to second guess their actions.

I started this Nissi Knows blog because I wanted a space to record the developments in my life and a way to archive my thoughts, processes and growths in a way I could share with other people and hopefully also refer back to with my daughter (when she is born – yes I am having a girl. Well I don’t know but please God let me have a girl!). Anyway a lot of my writing and music centres on the growth, thoughts and experiences of being a girl/ woman. So today I thought I better actually explicitly address the issue of life and purpose.

Firstly let me make it clear that I believe we are all made beautifully unique, with our own sets of individual gifts and talents. No two people are the same and we should never try to be. For some of you this may come as a shock because you are still living in the lie the world has told you that you have to try to be like someone else in order to be something; if it has not been done, it is not worth doing and cannot be done. That is a lie!

I want to roll this topic out as a series of blogs because it is impossible to cover in one, so lets leave it there.

The first thing I believe about purpose: You were created to be you!

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Life…the how did I get here moments?

  1. Adrienne May says:

    Thank you for the “Like” on my blog. I soak up every bit of encouragement. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog entries. I wish you every success!

  2. Very beautiful and insightful.

  3. isaiah43123 says:

    Thanks for coming back to My Hmmm Collection. I look forward to following your rolling thoughts about being created and for what purpose.

  4. Shirley Anne says:

    Amen from me too Nissi

    Shirley Anne xxx

  5. sfeldman69 says:

    Well put. I appreciate your willingness here to make yourself vulnerable and speak your truth, as you discuss in your post on Brene Brown’s video. Keep the faith!

  6. Hello,
    I wanted to “like” this, but there was not a like button that I could find. But I like it! Thank you!

  7. FatGirlUSA says:

    Congrats on being a mom-to-be and remember… A mother’s love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible.  ~Marion C. Garretty, quoted in A Little Spoonful of Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul

  8. zradar says:

    Thanks for sharing this post NIssi. You have penned it down so beautifully..Keep writing

  9. You sound like a very wise young lady!

  10. Laurie says:

    Love your writing! What a beautiful blog!

  11. mbcoudal says:

    Like you, I wanted a girl. And I got twin girls. What is in store for you is even better than you can imagine for yourself! Thanks for sharing.

  12. Oh those “how did I get here moments” can be killers. I just had my birthday and have been pondering that question a lot. It goes along with the next question: “where am I headed?”

  13. So wonderful to read this coming from a beautiful woman. Thank you.

  14. anshulrautela says:

    Well said Nissi… Encouraging post! This post beautifully spreads the idea of “Be Yourself”. 🙂

    Anshul

  15. Thanks for the Like, Nissi, on my newer blog, which I started as a way to lift my spirits after the passing of my first ever dog in October. I really appreciate the support.

    Based on your love of food, you may enjoy my primary blog, http://www.thekitchencounselor.org/blog. I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts this evening. Your writing triggers important thoughts to contemplate/meditate/think about (whatever your personal preference.)

    Write on!

Leave a Reply

