Finding healing in shared experiences.

I watched a video of the amazingly talented 22 year old spoken word poet, Sarah Kay performing her piece ‘If I should have a daughter’. In the piece Kay talks about the preparation she would give her daughter to deal with the cruelty and unexpected push, shoves, highs and lows of life.  I am 22 also and although still early on in my years, like Kay my small but varied experiences have taught me that life can easily put out the little light and spark I believe we are all born with. Kay has some magical lines such as: “getting the wind kicked out of you will remind you just how much you like the taste of air” and “no matter how far you stretch your fingers they will never be able to catch all the pain you want to heal”.

Kay’s piece is one of the works that reminds me that life is often times pretty brutal but in those tough moments there are soft spots opened within that can help us appreciate the beauty of the small moments in life more. Also by knowing that life is unfair often times, we are better prepared for when we are wronged, feel unloved and unworthy. To know that it is common human experience not to be living the fairytale, we can also join in our daily burdens, and go on to find joy in the solidarity.

Check out Kay’s piece below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0snNB1yS3IE

 

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Purpose in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Finding healing in shared experiences.

  1. Thanks so much for the “like” Nissi 🙂 Looking forward to seeing more of your posts–you’re now on my blogroll!

  2. To know that it is common human experience not to be living the fairytale, we can also join in our daily burdens, and go on to find joy in the solidarity.

    Ah, if everyone your age understood this! It took me many years to learn. But you know, your generation gives me a great deal of hope. Great post.

  3. Oh, and then I watched the video. Thanks so much for this – sharing on Facebook. This gal is wise, talented and yes, brilliant.

  4. reading-stars says:

    Yes, you have a lot of insight for your age, continue to nurture it. ❤ Pam

  5. Reggle says:

    I’ve seen the video already – nevertheless, she’s very inspiring and uses the word to fill others with energy. A true gift.
    While initially I did not consider myself a likeminded person reading your blog, you have a very positive vibe. I suppose that’s all it takes to be likeminded: human.

    Keep up the experiences and life lessons!

  6. Nissi,
    Thanks for the like! I am clearly a newcomer here and just trying to find my way.

  7. Nissi,
    Perhaps it’s not my place to say, but having a boy would require you to open a new chapter on life, learn new things, face new horizons. Would it really be so bad if you had a son?

  8. Thank you nissi for the like and thank you for sharing this one. I never really into poetry, but now I find it very interesting. I love your writing on your 2nd blog, hv to say its an inspiration for me. Thx again.

Leave a Reply

