Mirror Monologues: Morning Dance & My Truth

The morning dance:

A long time ago I came to the realization that I could create and re – create myself each and every time I looked in the mirror.
Ponytail, middle part, afro thrown back, which one do I choose?
My world of possibilities starts the minute I look at me.
From the time I open my eyes and step out of bed, approach my mirror, unwrap my hair… I have a choice: who do I want to be today?
My mind dances out of the door watching myself as down the street I go.
Should I dress to strut like a vixen? Or creep through town with peep toes – smitten?
Take a run and conquer the world? Or flip flop in sandles and pay no attention?
I am a woman with possibilities.
That tops a bit low and I wonder where mens eyes’ll go
But with the polo neck I’ll look like a saint, I don’t want that – nah no.
With a strapless my arms are out, if it gets cold, I’ll regret that.
A shirts too regal it’ll shut them down.
Today’s a dress day I think
– Long just past the knee, waist pulled in, neck pretty.
I’m saying I am happy to be a lady and do what men can’t do.
I’m all for equality and love being a woman too.
It’s a man’s world – the dress says I don’t care,
I don’t have to dress cold and everywhere I go glare.
I am free spirited.
I am saying I have nothing to prove
I’ve reduced economics and the world to just me and you
Dress or no dress (well not like that)
I’m saying I like me and I don’t care if you’re not fine with that.
…It takes more than a second to dress you know
You’re thinking, you debate all this in the morning before you go?
Well yea – everyone thinks about the back story don’t they.
Let’s be honest, nobody just looks and sees a person.
What do you think when you look at me?

My Truth:

I can’t explain using words but I try anyway because they are the closest thing I can use to breakdown the breaks in communication we have.
There are many intonations, indentations, variations and complications in our world – I said ours – yes.
My world only exists to me and I want you to be able to see through the pearl white, jet black dimples I use to light up the streets and cast un identical shadows creating custom silhouettes that tell a story only I can read and so you see I am your translator.
You think you understand but you don’t and never will.
All you have is what I tell you and if not believed only casts huge, opaque, web like structures over humanity as you perceive and everywhere you go like a buzzing bee will appear a lie.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mirror Monologues: Morning Dance & My Truth

  1. Jane Sadek says:

    I used to have a stack of index cards with a potential work outfit written on each card. Each morning I’d just wear the outfit that was listed on the top card and then put the card at the bottom of the pile. That morning decision was just too much for me to deal with.

  2. v v v v v says:

    nice poem 🙂
    complicated explanation…

  3. reading-stars says:

    I have nominated you for the Verstile Blogger Award. Please see my last post for details on how to accept it. Pam

  4. faithdream says:

    This reminds me of Maya Angelou’s poem, “A Phenomenal Woman”. What beautiful imagery you showcased with your words. You have a free-sprited talent for writing. Great work!

  5. ldsrr91 says:

    Nice work Nissi, will cop me a subscription and check you out from time to time.

    DS

  6. guess says:

    I get pleasure from, lead to I discovered exactly what I was having a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

