End of the year blues and boldness from God.

I woke up feeling absolutely terrible. My body is definitely telling me that we are coming to the end of the year. My alarm went off at 7am and I pressed the killer snooze button and woke up at 7.50am! The horror of the fact that I had planned to start work at 8am forced me out of bed because getting to work later means finishing later… I had a super hero shower in 5 minutes and was dressed and out of my house in 25 minutes. The drive to work is takes about 10 minutes ( don’t judge me! It is a much longer 30 minute walk which I could do and am not trying to make excuses, but usually by the time I am coming out of the office it is cold, dark and scary so I prefer to drive).

Anyway I was in my car and thinking about the various meetings and task I have to complete this week in readiness for next year. Some actions I have beaten around the bush on because of (what I have had to accept as) fear and definitely needs addressing. I drove to work and began praying that God would not only give me the energy but boldness to walk in the ways He wants for me. This time I spent sitting in traffic and taking sometime to reflect on God’s promises and the different ways He has worked in the lives of those before me (David, Elijah, Job, Joshua and Caleb), gave me that oomph I needed to prepare myself to address some tasks.

When I got into work I sat at my desk and opened the Bible App on my phone to read the following words:

Habakkuk 3.19: “The Lord God is my strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like Hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not stand in terror, but to walk] and make spiritual progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]!”

 All I can say is the way God speaks to our issues and lives directly through the Bible is amazing! There might be something you are scared to do or have given up on – don’t! No matter what God has you and through Him you can do AMAZING things.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to End of the year blues and boldness from God.

  1. Ariel Driskell says:

    You’ve done it again, I absolutely love this post. I definitely needed to read this today. 🙂

  2. nuvofelt says:

    It is a priviledge and a pleasure to hear His voice. He is SO Good!

  3. I love your post. Several years ago, I read the book, Hind’s Feet on High Places. It’s an allegory about the Christian life and quite good. That verse always reminds me of the book.

    Happy Thanksgiving from Thailand!

Leave a Reply

