The importance of finding time to rest – Writers overload.

Blogging is such a beautiful and fulfilling thing to do. To write and express your opinions within a community of like minded individuals is great. However it can and often does (for the serious blogger) becoming consuming. I found that even in my ‘down time’ I was still thinking about writing and therefore never really having any time to rest. I started to feel the effects of my all consuming blogging passion a few weeks ago and have now decided to reorganise my blogging diary.

This is just a heads up for you because you might see a few changes in the weeks to come.

If you are feeling overly tired lately and have found that your writing is becoming a bit of an obsession, take this time out with me to rethink how you can write and stay healthy.

None of us want mad writer syndrome!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The importance of finding time to rest – Writers overload.

  1. nicole says:

    i look forward to observing your healthy upcoming changes! 🙂 x

  2. graceeetea says:

    Writing should never feel overwhelming, I think. 🙂 It should always feel refreshing!! I hope your mind rests well and writes fun, new things after its vacation!

    • It’s interesting you should say that Grace because writing was always my respite. However as I have moved from casually writing to professional, I think I have become a bit obsessive and lost the sense of why I write in the first place.

      I can’t wait to re work things and get my mind and body working as they should do.

      Nissi:-)

      • flippitytrip says:

        Great post and blog. I too used to feel as if writing was the “place” I go to escape and somewhat of a bastion. However, when it’s 3am and I’m thinking to myself, “just one more blog” or one more paragraph and two hours later I’m crawling into bed, I wonder if sometimes my great escape is really my prison.

        Cheers.

      • Thank you. Its good to know I am not the only one!

  3. Marilyn says:

    Earlier in November I wrote a post so similar about reclaiming my voice. I know exactly what you are talking about. I wrote these words “I began the journey of daily blogging with confidence, determined to find a niche and have a voice. I now sit blankly and the words “I’ve got nothing!” clang like cymbals in my ears.” It’s been refreshing to process why and to also make some changes. Thanks for reflecting my thoughts.

  4. That’s for sure! Margie

  5. jdanryan says:

    I can understand not wanting to suffer mad writer syndrome, though I think some folk love to watch a case unfold…

    Truth to tell, how many Romantics do we follow in lit classes, writers who believed in some universal truth enough to “suffer for their craft” to the point that their biography becomes either a cautionary tale or an example of art above all, and in either happening devolve into a potential Merchant-Ivory film from there…

    Even beyond that period, there’s a certain fascination with watching a talent go nuts. Both H P Lovecraft and Robert E Howard are linked by among other things their inability to handle the 1930s, and Agatha Christie’s “Yorkshire Holiday” also comes to mind.

    I’m not sure how I’d stay healthy if the writing got overwhelming, but I do hope this if I do go that way, it’d at least be a pretty decent show; have to live up to all the examples before me…

  6. Oh so true!! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one obsessing and worrying about what my next post will be. I’m juggling two (very different) blogs and while I love it and find writing cathartic and fulfilling – there are days when, yes, I just want to rest my head! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

